Men's U20 Team Named for World Junior Trophy

August 24, 2018

LANGFORD, BC (August 20, 2018) – Following a selection camp at Shawnigan Lake School and a game against British Columbia Under-23, head coach Jeff Williams has announced his 26-man squad to travel to Bucharest to play in the Junior World Rugby Trophy.

There are seven changes to the squad that qualified by defeating the USA in a two-game series in June, driven by a concerted approach to player identification by the selectors at the Under-19 Canadian Rugby Championships in July. Foremost among the changes are the selections of U-17 outside half Campbell Clarke from Newfoundland, U-18 centre Lachlan Kratz from BC - who joins his brother Gavin on the team - and U-18 Tyler Duguid from Alberta at second row.
The other new selections are Guerschom Mukendi at loosehead, Mitch Wainman at prop, Tyler Rockwell at hooker, Josiah Morra at wing, and Gabriel Casey as a utility back.

"The U-19 CRC was really helpful to us in identifying this year's final squad, even though its major utility was in the identification of next year's squad," commented Jeff Williams. "We are very happy about the strength and conditioning improvements made by most of the squad since the Houston qualifiers, and buoyed by the strong team culture engendered by the players. We will play Portugal on August 28 and our entire focus this week will be on that game," he added.
The entire JWRT will be streamed live, with details to be confirmed by World Rugby.

Canada U20 Team for Junior World Trophy:
Gabriel Casey – Bytown Blues (Ottawa, ON)
Campbell Clarke – Swilers RFC (St. John’s, NL)
Reid Davis – Bayside RFC (Surrey, BC)
Tyler Duguid – Nor’Westers (Edmonton, AB)
Elias Ergas – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Peter Ingoldsby – Exmouth RFC (England)
Quentin James – Perpignan (Vancouver, BC)
Gavin Kratz – UVIC Vikes (Victoria, BC)
Lachlan Kratz – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Jackson Matthews – UVIC Vikes (Montreal, QC)
Jack McCarthy – Vandals RFC (St, John’s, NL)
Jack McRogers – McMaster University (Toronto, ON)
Josiah Morra – Toronto Saracens (Toronto, ON)
Guershom Mukendi – Stoney Creek RFC (Mississauga, ON)
James O’Neill – UVIC Vikes (Cochrane, AB)
Will Percillier – UBC Thunderbirds (Victoria, BC)
Brennig Prevost – UVIC Vikes (Victoria, BC)
Emerson Prior – Trent University (Toronto, ON)
Seth Purdey – UCal at Berkeley (Shawnigan Lake, BC)
Tyler Rockwell – James Bay AA (Calgary, AB)
Tyler Rowland – UBC Thunderbirds (Toronto, ON)
Owain Ruttan – UBC Thunderbirds (Toronto, ON)
Brandon Schellenberger – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Michael Smith – UBC Thunderbirds (Surrey, BC)
Kevin Vertkas – UBC Thunderbirds (Toronto, ON)
Mitchell Wainman – (Banff, AB)
Canada’s schedule: 
August 28 - Canada vs. Portugal
September 1 - Canada vs. Uruguay
September 5 - Canada vs Fiji
September 9 - Canada vs. TBC


Gethin Watts – Program Leader
Jeff Williams – Head Coach
Adam Roberts – assistant coach
Pat Parfrey – Manager
Kiyomi Thompson – Physiotherapist
Mylan Clairmont – Strength and Conditioning Coach
Derek Pue – Video Analyst
Shannon Houston – Doctor

U20 Support Group:

Karl Fix – Saskatchewan(Chair)
Andrew Purdey – BC
Mike Holmes – BC
David Robertson – BC
Bill Webb – Ontario
Pat Parfrey – Newfoundland

Original article and image courtesy of Rugby Canada