BC U18 Boys' XV Western Canadian Championships Roster Announced

August 01, 2018

Vancouver, BC (August 1, 2018) - BC Rugby is proud to announce the U18 Boys roster that will play in Winnipeg at the U18 Western Canadian Championships. BC will face teams from Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba during the tournament which goes from August 9th to 12th at Maple Park in Winnipeg.

The BC boys had a great showing in last year’s CRCs and handled most teams very well. They played an age-grade above their own, a U17 team in a U18 tournament and put together three straight wins before losing a very close game to Alberta in the final. After losing such a close match, this team should have lots to motivate them to get there again. This team has seven players returning to play representative rugby who played on the U17 BC Boys last year. Ryan Ayagos, Logan Henry, Izzak Kelly, Ryan Leskiw, Zephyr Melnyk, Cooper Powell, and Josh Tweed all throw on the blue and yellow once more for BC.

Coach Aaron O’Flaherty is confident in his group, saying “I'm delighted with the progress we've made over the course of the programme. Our main focus was to build a fundamental platform focusing on core skills and game awareness and I feel it has set us up really well leading into the Western Championships. There’s a lot of up and coming talent within the regions so it made both myself and the other coaches' decisions difficult, but it gives us great optimism for the future of rugby in BC”.

This team played five warmup games against opposition from the USA and Nottingham College and showed promising improvement throughout those games.

O’Flaherty commented on their progress, “We had some really challenging fixtures over the course of the month and we're proud of the boys with their game resilience and the fighting spirit they showed in the latter stages of the games. We're looking forward to developing these guys further and testing them against the best rugby players in western Canada”.

The U18 Western Canadian Championships start on August 9th and go until August 12th in Winnipeg.  There will be no live streaming of the matches, but stay tuned to BC Rugby and our social media channels for daily summaries of the BC Rep teams games

BC U18 Boy's XV Schedule
BC vs Manitoba
 Aug 9
9am CDT / 7am PDT
BC vs Alberta 2
 Aug 9
12pm CDT / 10am PDT
BC vs BC U17 Boys' XV Aug 11
10am CDT / 8am PDT
BC vs Saskatchewan Aug 11
1pm CDT / 11am PDT
BC vs Alberta 1 Aug 12
9am CDT / 7am PDT
BC U18 Boys' XV Roster

Ryan Agyagos - Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC)

Jacob Bossi  - Brentwood (Langford, BC)

Jacob Bourne - UBCOB Ravens (Vancouver, BC)

Tyler Buchanan - Bayside RFC (White Rock, BC)

Alex Chitan - Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC)

Liam Clark - Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC)

Logan Henry - Kamloops RFC (Kamloops, BC)

Rhys James - Kelowna Secondary (Kelowna, BC)

Izzak Kelly - Bayside RFC (White Rock, BC)

Gavin Kilpatrick - Westshore RFC (Langford, BC)

Owen Kokan - UBCOB Ravens (Vancouver, BC)

Ryan Leskiw - Carson Graham (North Vancouver, BC)

Zephyr Melynk - Nanaimo Hornets (Gabriola, BC)

Mackenzie Nordli - Nanaimo District Secondary (Nanaimo, BC)

Conor Paivarinta - Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford, BC)

Simon Paul - Kelowna Crows  (West Kelowna, BC)

Cooper Powell - Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC)

Nick Sauder - Vancouver Rowing Club (Vancouver, BC)

Forest Scarrwener - UBCOB Ravens (Vancouver, BC)

Liam Stephenson - Cowichan RFC (Victoria, BC)

Lucas Tuffin - Castaway Wanderers RFC (Victoria, BC)

Josh Tweed - Bayside RFC (Delta, BC)

Lochlan Wilson - Kamloops RFC (Kamloops, BC)

Staff

Aaron O'Flaherty

Aaron McLelland

Brian Moylett

James Welsh             

Naomi Ogawa