Canada and Scotland: History and Stats

June 07, 2018

Canada's Men's Rugby Team open their Summer Test Match Series against Scotland in Edmonton this coming Saturday.

Time: 7pm local time (9pm ET/6pm PT), June 9
Place: Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton, AB
World Rugby Rankings:
Canada: 21
Scotland: 6
Most Capped Players in squad:
DTH van der Merwe: 51
Ray Barkwill: 50
Nick Blevins: 49
Phil Mack: 49
Richie Gray: 65
Stuart Hogg: 60
David Denton: 39
Uncapped Players in Squad:
Theo Sauder
Lewis Carmichael
Jamie Ritchie
James Lang
Matt Fagerson
George Horne
Adam Hastings

Canada vs. Scottish Opposition:

August 29, 2015: Canada 19-12 Glasgow Warriors | Graves-Oakley Memorial Park, Halifax
June 14, 2014: Canada 17-19 Scotland | BMO Field, Toronto
November 21, 2008: Canada 0-41 Scotland | Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen, Scotland
June 7, 2008: Canada 10-24 Scotland 'A' | Twin Elm Rugby Park, Ottawa
June 7, 2006: Canada 10-15 Scotland 'A' | Twin Elm Rugby Park, Ottawa
June 15, 2002: Canada 26-23 Scotland | Thunderbird Stadium, Vancouver
January 21, 1995: Canada 6-22 Scotland | Murrayfield, Edinburgh, Scotland
May 25, 1991: Canada 24-19 Scotland XV | Saint John, New Brunswick
Record: 3-0-5
Canada vs. 2018 Opposition:
March 3, 2018: Canada 33-17 Chile | La Serena, Chile
February 24, 2018: Canada 15-40 Argentina XV | Jujuy, Argentina
February 17, 2018: Canada 45-5 Brazil | Westhills Stadium, Langford
February 10, 2018: Canada 10-29 USA | Sacramento, California
February 3, 2018: Canada 31-32 Uruguay | Montevideo, Uruguay
January 27, 2018: Canada 29-38 Uruguay | BC Place, Vancouver
Record: 2-0-4
Canada Squad:
Tyler Ardron – Co-Captain, Chiefs/Ontario Blues (Lakefield, ON)
Noah Barker – James Bay AA/BC Bears (Courtenay, BC)
Ray Barkwill – Seattle Seawolves/Ontario Blues (Niagara Falls, ON)
Nick Blevins – Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary, AB)
Luke Campbell – James Bay AA/BC Bears (Victoria, BC)
Paul Ciulini – Aurora Barbarians/Ontario Blues (Vaughan, ON)
Cole Davis – Calgary Saints/Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary, AB)
Dustin Dobravsky – Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears (Hanover, Germany)
Guiseppe du Toit – UVIC Vikes/BC Bears (Maple Ridge, BC)
Andrew Ferguson – Oakville Crusaders/Ontario Blues (Mississauga, ON)
Doug Fraser – Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears (Ladysmith, BC)
Jeff Hassler – Unattached/Prairie Wolf Pack (Okotoks, AB)
Matt Heaton – Darlington Mowden Park/Atlantic Rock (Godmanchester, QC)
Eric Howard – New Orleans Gold/Ontario Blues (Ottawa, ON)
Jake Ilnicki – Yorkshire Carnegie/BC Bears (Williams Lake, BC)
Cole Keith – James Bay AA/Atlantic Rock (Sussex, NB)
Conor Keys – UVIC Vikes/Atlantic Rock (Stittsville, ON)
Ryan Kotlewski – Westshore RFC/Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary, AB)
Josh Larsen – Otago (Parksville, BC)
Ben LeSage – UBC Thunderbirds/Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary, AB)
Kainoa Lloyd – Mississauga Blues/Ontario Blues (Mississauga, ON)
Phil Mack – Co-Captain, Seattle Seawolves/BC Bears (Victoria, BC)
Gordon McRorie – Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary, AB)
Shane O’Leary – Ealing Trailfinders (Cork, Ireland)
Evan Olmstead – Auckland/Prairie Wolf Pack (Vancouver, BC)
Pat Parfrey – Swilers RFC/Atlantic Rock (St. John’s, NL)
Lucas Rumball – Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues (Mississauga, ON)
Theo Sauder – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Djustice Sears-Duru – Unattached/Ontario Blues (Oakville, ON)
DTH van der Merwe – Captain, Glasgow Warriors (Victoria, BC)
Scotland Squad:
Forwards (18):

Props: Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Murray McCallum (Edinburgh Rugby);
Hookers: Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby, capt), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors).
Locks: Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh Rugby), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray (Toulouse), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby).
Back-rows: Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby), David Denton (Worcester Warriors), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Luke Hamilton (Leicester Tigers), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby).

Backs (15):
Back three: Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks).
Centres: Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens).
Fly-halves: Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors), James Lang (Harlequins).
Scrum-halves: Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors).

Article and image courtesy of Rugby Canada