Elite Youth Sevens Girls' U16 Team Announced

February 01, 2018

Vancouver, BC – BC Rugby is delighted to announce the Elite Youth Sevens Girls’ U16 Team, sponsored by Onni,  set to compete at the Las Vegas Invitational on March 1-3, 2018.  The team was selected from the dozens of players who took part in the Elite Youth Sevens Program, starting with ID sessions across the province in Fall and followed up by a Training/Selection camp at Burnaby Lake earlier this month.  In the end, 12 athletes (and three non-travelling reserves) have been selected to represent the province in the upcoming tournament.

The Elite Youth Sevens U16 Girls’ Team has a strong track record at this highly competitive event, with a 2nd and 3rd place finish in 2016 and 2017 respectively.  This year’s squad is almost entirely populated by new players with just one, Halle Smith (Kamloops), making the cut from last year’s team.  The squad will head to Las Vegas more determined than ever to secure the top spot that has eluded them for the last two years.

Darcy Patterson, head coach and Elite Youth Sevens Girls’ Program Leader, was upbeat about the team’s chances going into the tournament.  “It was pretty amazing to see just how many girls got involved with the program this year, and while it was a challenge to scale that down to a travelling team of just 12, I really think these girls have got a great chance of putting in a strong performance in Vegas”.

The Elite Youth Sevens Girls’ Program continues with a U18 training session on Vancouver Island this weekend, with a team announcement expected in early February.  Both teams will fly off with the Boys’ Teams at the end of February in preparation for the Las Vegas Invitational.  These players and others from the Elite Youth Sevens Program will also form four regional teams taking part in the Vancouver Rugby Festival (VRF) on March 8-9, 2018, at UBC.

For more information on the LVI – Click Here

For more information on the VRF – Click Here

Elite Youth Sevens Girls’ U16 Team 2018:

Halle Smith, NorKamSecondary/Kamloops RFC (Kamloops BC)

Caleigh Silversides, NorKamSecondary/Kamloops RFC (Kamloops BC)

Esita Quiodravu, Salmon Arm Secondary/Kamloops RFC (Salmon Arm, BC)

Cassie Hull, Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford BC)

Niki Duchesne, Earl Marriott Secondary/Bayside Sharks RFC (South Surrey, BC)

Samantha Lillywhite, Shawnigan Lake (Shawnigan, BC)

Mikayla Brennan, Shawnigan Lake/Cowichan RFC (Duncan, BC)

Mia Eagar, Cowichan Secondary/Cowichan RFC (Duncan, BC)

Madison Makara, Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford BC)

Sierra Gillis, Belmont Secondary (Victoria, BC)

Libby Hogg, James Bay Athletic Association (Victoria, BC)

Sarah Meier, Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford BC)

Non-traveling Reserves:

Kira Peary, Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford BC)

Chloe Hill Huse, Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)

Jade Meldrum, Lake City Secondary (Williams Lake, BC)


Head Coach: Deanna Makara

Assistant Coach: Darcy Patterson

Medical: Naomi Ogawa