Eight BC Players Selected for Canada at Silicon Valley 7s

November 02, 2017

 & SILICON VALLEY, CALIFORNIA – Canada’s Men’s Sevens head coach Damian McGrath has selected his 12-man roster for the upcoming Silicon Valley 7s in California.  BC players occupy eight of the coveted spots, including youngsters Jake Thiel, Luke Bradley & Jared Douglas alongside more seasoned teammates like Isaac Kaay & Luke McCloskey.

Led by team captain and HSBC World Rugby Sevens stalwart John Moonlight, McGrath’s roster includes 11 players with World Series experience.

“We’ve brought a younger squad to San Jose. It’s a chance for Jake Thiel, Josiah Morra, Luke Bradley and Jared Douglas to get some game time plus Liam Underwood, Phil Berna and Pat Kay returning from long-term injury. It also gives Admir Cejvanovic a chance to acclimatize to sevens after 18 months in XVs,” said McGrath from California.

“John Moonlight brings leadership and experience to the team along with Matt Mullins, Isaac Kaay and Luke McCloskey,” added McGrath.

The 2017-18 season – which gets underway December 1-2 in Dubai – consists of 10 tournaments on the World Series, along with the Commonwealth Games in April and the Rugby World Cup 7s in July.

 “With Tevaughn Campbell and Adam Zaruba yet to rejoin the squad and Andrew Coe with the XVs it allows us to rest our senior players carrying minor injuries: Harry Jones, Connor Braid, Nathan Hirayama, Mike Fuailefau, Lucas Hammond and Justin Douglas,” added McGrath.

“We are treating this weekend as great warm up opportunity ahead of the World Series with plenty of top level opposition.”

For the third straight year, HSBC Canada Sevens returns to Vancouver’s BC Place March 10-11. After more than 75,000 fans filled the stadium for this year’s events, tickets have been selling at a rapid.

To purchase tickets, please click here.

Canada’s Men’s Roster for Silicon Valley Sevens:

Phil Berna – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)

Luke Bradley – Port Alberni Black Sheep (Port Alberni, BC)

Admir Cejvanovic – Burnaby Lake RFC (Burnaby, BC)

Jared Douglas – Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford, BC)

Isaac Kaay – UVIC Vikes (Kamloops, BC)

Pat Kay – Castaway Wanderers (Duncan, BC)

Josiah Morra – Toronto Saracens (Toronto, ON)

Luke McCloskey – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)

John Moonlight – James Bay AA (Pickering, ON)

Matt Mullins – Queen’s University (Belleville, ON)

Jake Thiel – Abbotsford RFC (Abbottsford, BC

Liam Underwood – Balmy Beach RFC (Toronto, ON)

Canada’s Men’s Team Staff:

Damian McGrath – Head Coach

Lee Douglas – Assistant Coach/Strength Coach

Brian Hunter – Manager

Calum Ramsay – Performance Analyst

Danielle Mah – Physiotherapist

Canada’s Silicon Valley 7s Schedule on Saturday 4th November:

Canada vs. England – 2:44pm ET/11:44am PT

Canada vs. Ireland – 6:44pm ET/3:44pm PT

Canada vs. Samoa – 10:16pm ET/7:16pm PT

Content by Bryan Kelley, Rugby Canada.  Image Courtesy of Rugby Canada