BC Rugby recognized by Rugby Canada as 2013 Provincial Union of the Year
BC representatives recognized at gala dinner in Victoria
Published Saturday, April 12, 2014
by Andrew Smith, with files from Rugby Canada

VICTORIA, BC - On Friday evening at the Royal BC Museum in downtown Victoria, members of the national rugby community gathered to celebrate the best of Canadian rugby at the second Annual Rugby Canada Awards Ceremony. BC Rugby took home top honours at the event when they were recognized as Rugby Canada's 2013 Provincial Union of the Year.

"Through their success on and off the field, [BC Rugby] are a model organization for Rugby Canada," read the official 2013 video produced for the awards dinner. "Their programming geared towards growing the game at all levels, their accomplishments in high performance rugby, their initiatives with sevens rugby and the number of high quality number of events they host for their membership all support Rugby Canada's strategic plan."

BC Rugby was also recognized for fielding 16 representative teams in 15s rugby with both the U16 men and women, and U19 men all crowned national champions. The BC U18 men and women each claimed silver medals while the senior men and U20 women placed in the top three of their respective divisions. The BC Elite Youth Sevens was recognized for its unrivalled success for claiming two international trophies and for producing top talent for the Maple Leafs and Senior Men's National Teams. 

A number of BC representatives were recognized with prestigious awards including Pat Kay (Young Player of the Year, Stuart Pegg Award Recipient), Phil Mack (Players' Player of the Year), Bruce Kuklinski (Official of the Year) and Steph Murphy (Female Coach of the Year).
The second annual Awards Dinner coincided with Rugby Canada’s 2013 Fiscal Annual General Meeting, happening this weekend at the Westin Bear Mountain Hotel in Langford, British Columbia.

2013 Rugby Canada Award Winners
Coach of the Year – Female - Stephanie Murphy VIDEO
Coach of the Year – Male - Michel Francois
Match Official of the Year Award - Bruce Kuklinski VIDEO
Volunteer of the Year Award - Mark Winokur
Provincial Union Award - British Columbia Rugby Union VIDEO
Young Player of the Year – Female - DaLeaka Menin
Young Player of the Year – Male - Patrick Kay VIDEO
Player of the Year – Women’s Sevens  - Jen Kish
Player of the Year – Men’s Sevens - John Moonlight
Player of the Year – Women’s Fifteens - Kelly Russell
Player of the Year – Men’s Fifteens - Ciaran Hearn
Men’s Fifteens Players Player of the Year – Phil Mack

Stuart Pegg Award – Pat Kay


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012