Qualifying underway for 2014 BC Rugby High School Provincial Sevens
Published Thursday, April 10, 2014 3:00 pm
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

clientuploads/-Logos_graphics/BC Rugby Logos/BC-High-School-Provincial-7s-Logo-Layouts_NEW-Col-WEB.jpgVANCOUVER, BC - A number of qualifying tournaments are underway over the next few days as teams compete for berths to the 2014 BC Rugby High School Provincial Sevens Championships. The three day tournament is set to feature 16 boys and 16 girls teams competing for provincial titles at UBC's Wolfson Fields from April 25-27.

BCHSGRA (Girls Rugby) Updates
The BC High School Girls Rugby Association qualifiers are currently underway with a number of teams having already clinched berths to provincials.

"As President of the BCSHGRA, the Provincial Sevens tournament has become a major fixture within our calendar," said Brad Baker, BCHSGRA President. "With BC Rugby and Rugby Canada promoting the sevens game it is key for the BCHSGRA to be active partners in this development and all zones from across the province will be represented at this tournament. With the 15’s program already strong in BC, the wish of the BCHSGRA Executive is for our sevens programs to develop alongside the 15’s programs to ensure continued growth.”

  • Vancouver Zone will be having a qualifying tournament on April 16th – McMath, McRoberts, Burnaby North and Kitsilano vying for 2 spots
  • Island Zone will be having a qualifying tournament on April 13th – Cowichan, Vanier, Shawnigan, Brentwood, Stellys and Belmont vying for 4 spots
  • Northwest Zone held a qualifying tournament in the fall – Houston Secondary won the tournament and will be representing this zone.
  • Cariboo Zone – Lake City Secondary will be representing this zone
  • Valley Zone – Elgin, Yale and Semi have already qualified.  3 remaining teams will be announced this week after further qualifying
  • Okanagan Zone – waiting to confirm what 2 teams will be attending


BCSSRU (Boys Updates) Updates
Qualifiers for the BC Secondary Schools' Rugby Union competitions are also underway this Friday with the Okanagan, Lower Mainland and Fraser Valley qualifiers set for Friday, April 11. Vancouver Island's qualifiers are scheduled for Sunday, April 13.

Fraser Valley - zone qualifier (April 11) will feature nine teams competing.
Download full schedule here

Lower Mainland - zone qualifier (April 11) will be played in North Vancouver at Klahanie Park.
Pool A: Carson Graham, Seycove, Cariboo Hill, Lord Byng, West Vancouver
Pool B: St. George's, Magee, Handsworth, Argyle, Moscrop
Download full schedule here

Okanagan - zone qualifier (April 11) Schedule to follow

Vancouver Island - zone qualifier (April 13) will feature two pools of four teams in a tournament held at UVic's Centennial Stadium.
Pool A - SMUS, Brentwood, GNS, Port Alberni
Pool B - GP Vanier, Oak Bay, Cowichan, Spectrum
Download full schedule here


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012