Castaway Wanderers take Island U16 title with 59-0 win over Velox
Island Junior Rugby in good shape as CW and Velox battle for U.16 Island Championship
Published Tuesday, November 26, 2013
by Tami Tate, Castaway Wanderers

Victoria BC –  Rugby fans were treated to some fantastic rugby on Sunday afternoon during the U16 Island final. Technical skill and youthful passion from both teams was on display at Winsdor Park between the Castaway Wanderers and Velox Valhallians.

While CW were ultimately able to record a victory of 59-0, each score was hard fought for against a determined Velox club. The Castaway Wanderers handling skills were matched by the commitment of the Velox squad to the tackle area. It was only the dogged defence of CW which turned the tale with some unbelievably stoic and disciplined defence.

Coach Spencer Robinson shared his view with his young charges after the game by reminding them that, "Defence wins championships. While I'm proud of the tries you were able to score, I'm more proud of the ones you didn't allow to be scored on you. It takes an entire team to defend well."

Having said that the coach didn't hesitate to recognized the contribution of Sasha Lanine, Gavin Kratz and Josh Khan as "top tacklers".

Velox were denied the services of their star center Josh Graffi early in the game due to a knee injury. The weight was placed clearly on the shoulders of Velox captain Logan Martin-Feek, who lead his side well from the fly half position. Other notable contributions for the Velox side came from Quinn Ngawati, Alex Va'a and Aiden Currie. Velox coach Greg Clague should be proud of his team.

The day however, belonged to the entire CW U16 team.

Congratulations to: Sam Barclay, Chris Carson, David Carson, Aidan Cole, Myles Duncan, Sol Elkin, Antony Fenlon, Ivan Gonzalez, Walker Grant, Jonah Hall, Joshua Kahn, Sam Kahn, Ben Kinahan, Connor King, Owen Kojima, Gavin Kratz, Sasha Lanine, Jonathan Makaroff, Callum Masterton, Jim Newman, Ben O’Flynn, Tristan O’Keefe, Julian Oldham, Jai Pereira, Brennig Prevost, Jonas Robinson, Adrian Rupke, Gareth Sandner, Brandon Schellenberger, Jamie Shillington, Will Tarrant, Brayden Tate and Carter White. Coaches: Spencer Robinson, Kevin Hall, Dylan Tanner, Jon Obertas, Manager Tami Tate and Trainer Stephanie Young.

CW will compete for the BC title this coming weekend.

Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012