BC Bears down Wolf Pack, clinch second place in 2013 CRC
BC Bears 36, Wolf Pack 19
Published Saturday, September 21, 2013
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

EDMONTON, Alta - The BC Bears produced an impressive 36-19 road win on Saturday afternoon to down the Prairie Wolf Pack in the final round of the 2013 Canadian Rugby Championship. The bonus point victory saw the Bears (2-3) clinch second place in the senior men's national competition, dropping the Wolf Pack to (2-3) and into third place in the final standings. Across the country in St. John's, Newfoundland, 2013 champions Ontario (5-0) stayed perfect, edging the Atlantic Rock (1-4) by a score 26-23.

2013 Canadian Rugby Championship Standings:
1. Ontario Blues 5-0, 22 pts (2 BPs)
2. BC Bears 2-3, 11 pts (3 BPs)
3. Prairie Wolf Pack 2-3, 10 pts (2 BPs)
4. Atlantic Rock 1-4, 5 pts (1 BP)
NOTE: Bonus points for four or more tries or a loss by less than seven pts

BC Bears 36, Wolf Pack 19
Saturday's tilt at Edmonton's Ellerslie Rugby Park was a rubber match between the two Western Canada rep sides as the Wolf Pack had previously defeated the Bears 30-21 in Vancouver back on August 10th.

Returning from injury to lead the Bears was Victoria product Connor Braid who led all scorers with 21 points. The Canada-capped fly half tallied a try, two conversions, three penalties and a drop goal in his final Bears performance of the 2013 season. UBC Thunderbirds speedster Sean Ferguson recorded a brace of tries from full back with winger Clayton Meeres of James Bay AA also punching in a crucial score.

The Bears were up 16-12 at the break and held their opponents to just a single try in the second half.

"We played with patience, discipline and utilized the field space well," said BC Bears head coach Jim Dixon. "It was a great 22-man performance."

After sitting out the 2012 CRC competition, the Bears team staff were pleased with a second-place finish in 2013.

"We made a positive start to the revitalized Bears program. We have plenty to build on but we are pleased with the effort and commitment of the guys involved," added Dixon. "There is huge potential in this group and with time, we will build familiarity and competition for spots."

"We will now take some time to reflect on the competition and provide the players with some feedback to implement in the Canadian Direct Insurance Premier League with their clubs," Dixon added.

As the BC Rugby Union now turns its attention towards club competition for the Fall 2013 season, several members of the Bears squad will soon be called up to Canada-A, the senior men's national development squad set to compete at the Americas Rugby Championship in Langford this October. The 10-day International Rugby Board competition will feature national sides from Uruguay, USA, Canada and reigning champions Argentina Jaguars.

For more information on the ARC visit www.americasrugbychampionship.com



Prairie Wolf Pack 19
Tries: Carl Pocock, Kyle Gilmour, Duncan Maguire
Conversions: Goron McRorie x2

BC Bears 36
Tries: Connor Braid, Clayton Meeres, Sean Ferguson x2
Conversions: Connor Braid x2
Penalties: Connor Braid x3
Drop Goal: Connor Braid


BC Bears roster vs Prairie Wolf Pack
1. Anthony Luca (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
2. Micha Govorchin (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
3. Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC)
4. Shea Wakefield (UVic Vikes)
5. Aaron Flagg (Abbotsford RFC)
6. Callum Morrison (Meraloma Rugby Club)
7. Luke Campbell (UVic Vikes)
8. Chris Chalmers (Abbotsford RFC)
9. James Pitblado (UVic Vikes)
10. Connor Braid (James Bay AA)
11. Clayton Meeres (James Bay AA)
12. Michael Fuailefau (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
13. Joe Dolesau (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
14. Evan Thomas (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
15. Sean Ferguson (UBC Thunderbirds)

16. Andrew Lackner (Burnaby lake Rugby Club)
17. Clayton Thornber (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
18. Jim de Goede (James Bay AA)
19. Thyssen de Goede (James Bay AA)
20. Caleb Hansen (Vancouver Rowing Club)
21. Steve Battie (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
22. Jorden Best (UBC Thunderbirds)

Team Staff
Head Coach - Jim Dixon
Manager - Hans de Goede
Assistant Coach - Kenny Goodland
Strength & Conditioning - Conan Cooper
Athletic Therapist - Jessica Smith

Prairie Wolf Pack
1. Andrew Tiedemann (St. Albert AB, Castaway Wanderers RFC)
2. Casey Reed (Airdrie AB, Hornets)
3. Scott Franklin (Medicine Hat AB, Castaway Wanderers)
4. Ian Huston (Calgary AB, Saints)  
5. Joshua Schlebach (Calgary AB, CCIAC)  
6. John Anderson (Calgary AB, Hornets)
7. Kyle Gilmour 'C' (Edmonton AB, St. Albert)           
8. Clayton Panga ’C’ (Calgary AB, Hornets)
9. Gordon McRorie  (Calgary AB, Hornets)
10. Adam McQueen (Canmore AB, Hornets)
11. Duncan Maguire (St. Albert AB, St. Albert)           
12. Brodie Henderson (Edmonton AB, Clansmen)
13. James Buchanan (Calgary AB, Hornets)           
14. Ian Shoults (Calgary AB, Canucks)             
15. Carl Pocock (Calgary AB, Hornets)
16. Tyler Hawes (Cochrane AB, Canucks)         
17. Pete Houlihan (Edmonton AB, Druids)
18. Brett Kelly (Edmonton AB, St. Albert RFC)
23. John Moloney (Edmonton AB, St. Albert RFC)
20. Kyle Rawson (Calgary AB, Hornets)
21. Jake Robinson (Edmonton AB, St. Albert RFC)
22. Adam Bontus (Edmonton AB, St. Albert RFC)

Team Staff
Head Coach – Graeme Moffat
Assistant Coach – Col Jeffs
Manager – Jim Kazakoff
Assistant Manager – Jo Reinbold
Athletic Therapist – Rebecca Spears
Athletic Therapist – Nicole Ainsworth
Strength and Conditioning - Peak Power


2013 Canadian Rugby Championship Schedule:
Sat. Aug 10: Prairie Wolf Pack 30, BC Bears 21
Sat. Aug 17: Ontario Blues 27, Atlantic Rock 25
Sat. Aug 24: Atlantic Rock 16, Prairie Wolf Pack 14
Fri. Aug 30: Atlantic Rock 27, Prairie Wolf Pack 47
Fri. Aug 30: Ontario Blues 11, BC Bears 7
Mon. Sept 2: Ontario Blues 53 - 23 Prairie Wolf Pack
Mon. Sept 2: Atlantic Rock 18 - 40 BC Bears
Sat. Sept 14: BC Bears 27 - 50 Ontario Blues
Sat. Sept 21: Ontario Blues 26 - 23 Atlantic Rock
Sat. Sept 21: BC Bears 36 - 19 Prairie Wolf Pack


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012