Bears add Jones, Hirayama and White for Ontario road trip
Published Tuesday, September 10, 2013
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

clientuploads/-Photos_NewsandEvent_Articles/REP Rugby/Sr Men/Nathan-Hirayama---BC-Senior-Men-Photo.jpg
VANCOUVER - The BC Bears will head to Lindsay, Ontario on Thursday ahead of their weekend clash with reigning MacTier Cup champions Ontario Blues. The Canadian Rugby Championship rematch will feature a number of national team standouts, including the addition of three capped BC Bears in Nathan Hirayama (UVic Vikes), Sean White (James Bay) and Harry Jones (Capilano RFC). The squad also welcomes the return of Burnaby Lake's Micha Govorchin who has recovered from an injury sustained in the Bears opener back on August 10th.

Match Details
BC Bears (1-2) at Ontario Blues (3-0)
Sat. Sept 14, 4:30pm
@Greenway Park, Lindsay, Ontario
Tickets: $10

Jones (5 caps), Hirayama (12 caps) and White (23 caps) will return to the Bears lineup for the first time this season, having spent a busy summer helping Canada qualify for the 2015 Rugby World Cup as well as representing their country in the Pacific Nations Cup and 2013 Rugby Sevens World Cup. Jones and Hirayama will be welcomed additions to the roster, especially due to the fact that leading scorers and kickers Pat Kay (UVic Vikes) and Connor Braid (James Bay) are unable to travel due to injuries.

"It's great to have these guys back and involved in the program as they bring experience," said Bears head coach Jim Dixon. "They have played at a level of intensity that's required to win big fixtures and there will be a lot of pressure on our program to win in Ontario this weekend."

The Bears recently fell 11-7 against the Blues in a defensive battle at Langford's Westhills Stadium. The home side had plenty of possession but were unable to capitalize on scoring opportunities when they presented themselves.

"We need to be more accurate on our attack and unfortunately Ontario won the contest at the breakdown in that game," Dixon added. "Our defence as a whole has been good but lapses have cost us tries and we need to make sure we are switched on all the time, especially when facing a side like Ontario."

The Bears will head to rugby hotbed Lindsay with the goal of handing the Blues their first loss of the season. The roster will be without the services of Rugby World Cup veteran Adam Kleeberger but will have plenty of experience with capped-forward Aaron Flagg (Abbotsford RFC) and Canada-A and Sevens speedster Sean Ferguson (UBC Thunderbirds) in the back line. Meraloma standout Callum Morrison will captain the Bears for the third straight game.

"We're going there to win the game," added Dixon. "We have improved over the first three games and we came very close to winning our last one against them a couple weekends ago. Now the expectation is to take things a step further."

Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30pm at Lindsay's Greenway Rugby Park. Admission is set at $10.00

The Bears starting lineup will be announced on Friday, September 13th.

BC Bears vs Ontario Blues (Sept 14, 2013)
1. Clayton Thornber (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
2. Andrew Lackner (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
3. Scott MacKay (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
4. Shea Wakefield (UVic Vikes)
5. Jim De Goede (James Bay AA)
6. Callum Morrison (Meraloma Rugby Club)
7. Dustin Dobravsky (UVic Vikes)
8. Chris Chalmers (Abbotsford RFC)
9. Sean White (James Bay AA)
10. Harry Jones (Capilano RFC)
11. Evan Thomas (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
12. Nathan Hirayama (UVic Vikes)
13. Joe Dolesau (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
14. Caleb Hansen (Vancouver Rowing Club)
15. Sean Ferguson (UBC Thunderbirds)

16. Micha Govorchin (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
17. Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC)
18. Aaron Flagg (Abbotsford RFC)
19. Luke Campbell (UVic Vikes)
20. Luke McCloskey (UVic Vikes)
21. Jonny Morris (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
22. Steve Battie (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)

BC Bears Team Staff
Head Coach: Jim Dixon
Manager: Hans de Goede
Strength and Conditioning: Conan Cooper
Physiotherapist: Jessica Smith

Ontario Blues Roster
1- Doug Wooldridge (Lindsay RFC)
2- Ray Barkwill (Niagara Wasps)
3- Jacob Rumball (Balmy Beach)
4- Hank McQueen (Balmy Beach)
5- Haddon Murray (Balmy Beach)
6- John Moonlight (Ajax Wanderers)
7- Alistair Clark (Bay Street)
8- Seb Pearson (London St. George’s)
9- Jamie Mackenzie (Oakville Crusaders)
10- Liam Underwood (Balmy Beach)
11- Dan Moor (Balmy Beach)
12- Derek Daypuck, Captain, (London St. George’s)
13- Jordan Wilson-Ross (Barrie RFC)
14- Ryan MacSween (Balmy Beach)
15- Lucas Hammond (Toronto Nomads)

16- Judson Rowbotham (Lindsay RFC)
17- Rob Brouwer (Lindsay RFC)
18- Mike Sheppard (Stoney Creek)
19- Mark MacSween (Balmy Beach)
20- Tim Richardson (Markham Irish)
21- Matt Alexander (Oshawa Vikings)
22- Andrew Ferguson (Oakville Crusaders)

Ontario Blues Team Staff
Head Coach - Chris Silverthorn
Manager - Mark Winokur
Assistant Coaches - Paul Connelly, Paul Ambrose
Video Analyst - Rodin Lozada
Athletic Therapist - Chris Kelly
Team Doctor - Dr. Chris Gallimore

2013 Canadian Rugby Championship Schedule:
Sat. Aug 10: Prairie Wolf Pack 30, BC Bears 21
Sat. Aug 17: Ontario Blues 27, Atlantic Rock 25
Sat. Aug 24: Atlantic Rock 16, Prairie Wolf Pack 14
Fri. Aug 30: Atlantic Rock 27, Prairie Wolf Pack 47
Fri. Aug 30: Ontario Blues 11, BC Bears 7
Mon. Sept 2: Ontario Blues 53 - 23 Prairie Wolf Pack
Mon. Sept 2: Atlantic Rock 18 - 40 BC Bears
Sat. Sept 14, 4:30pm: BC Bears at Ontario Blues (Greenway Park, Lindsay)
Sat. Sept 21, 3:30pm: Ontario Blues at Atlantic Rock (Swilers Rugby Complex, St. John's)
Sat. Sept 21, 3:00pm: BC Bears at Prairie Wolf Pack (Ellerslie Rugby Park, Edmonton)


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012