BC Bears to hold trial game this weekend at Klahanie Park
Published Thursday, July 25, 2013
by Andrew Smith, with files from Jim Dixon

clientuploads/-Photos_NewsandEvent_Articles/REP Rugby/Sr Men/2013/WEB-Joe-Dolesau-Burnaby-Lake.jpg
VANCOUVER - With the Canadian Rugby Championship opener just two weeks away, the BC Bears program will be holding a trial camp at Klahanie Park this Sunday before selecting their player roster for the August 10th fixture against the Prairie Wolf Pack.

The upcoming weekend will consist of a two-day camp where the team will be focusing on implementing their systems and patterns. The trial match will be set for 1:00pm on Sunday, July 28th at Klahanie Park.

This will be the second full session for both Island and Mainland players who have been training regionally in build up to the competition.

"Training has been going very well and we've had consistent numbers at both the Victoria and Vancouver sessions. The quality of training has improved every week and the guys have been working on their conditioning," said Bears head coach Jim Dixon. "This weekend will give our coaching team a final opportunity to see them in a game context and make our selections ahead of the first match."

A number of national team players expected to play later in the season have been resting after a busy summer Test schedule and will soon be in preparation for the World Cup qualifiers. Several BC speedsters were also recently called up to the Canadian Maple Leafs side and are expected to rejoin the Bears schedule in the coming weeks.

After this weekend, the selected players (listed below) will reassemble for an August 2nd training session before coming together on August 9th for a final tune up ahead of the CRC opener at UBC's Wolfson Fields in Vancouver.

Trial Match Player Pool
Jason Allen (Velox Valhallians)
Ryan Ackerman (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Mitch Bancroft (James Bay AA)
Steve Battie (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Alex Boyd (Meraloma Rugby Club)
Matt Buckley (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Luke Campbell (James Bay AA)
Admir Cejvanovic (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Chris Chalmers (Abbotsford RFC)
Jim De Goede (James Bay AA)
Thyssen De Goede (James Bay AA)
Dustin Dobravsky (UVic Vikes)
Joe Dolesau (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Sean Ferguson (UBC Thunderbirds)
Aaron Flagg (Abbotsford RFC)
Micha Govorchin (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Kevin Gurniak (Vancouver Rowing Club) 
Caleb Hansen (Vancouver Rowing Club)
Jonathan Hill (UBCOB Ravens)
Riley Ilnicki (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Gord Kehoe (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Andrew Lackner (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Anthony Luca (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Scott MacKay (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC)
Luke McCloskey (UVic Vikes)
Cole McQueen (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Clayton Meeres (James Bay AA)
Shawn Mercier (Meraloma Rugby Club)
Callum Morrison (Meraloma Rugby Club)
Jon Morris (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Scott Plumber (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Henry Recinos (Vancouver Rowing Club)
Jordan Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC)
Konrad Rybkowski (Abbotsford RFC)
Brock Staller (UBC Thunderbirds)
Evan Thomas (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Clayton Thornber (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Bryan Tyrer (UBC Thunderbirds)
Nick Waggott (UBCOB Ravens)
Shea Wakefield (UVic Vikes)

Team Staff
Head Coach - Jim Dixon
Assistant Coach - Ken Goodland
Manager - Hans de Goede


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012