James Bay eclipse Burnaby Lake in CDI Premier League Final
Bays, Burnaby Women and UVic First Division Men take provincial titles
Published Saturday, May 11, 2013

clientuploads/-Photos_NewsandEvent_Articles/Men's Club/2012-13/WEB-JBAA-Champs-Dalziel.jpg

VICTORIA, BC - James Bay Athletic Association had one crucial thing between them and a championship on Saturday – make sure their forwards were better than Burnaby Lake’s.

They did that and then some.

Canadian Direct Insurance Premier League Final - Rounsefell Cup
James Bay Athletic Association 18 - 10 Burnaby Lake Rugby Club

Keeping their possession tight and rarely relinquishing it, JBAA used their veteran forward pack to command the game, on the way to an 18-10 victory in the Canadian Direct Insurance Premier League final.

It was a tense first half, with just a try apiece. It took 20 minutes before Burnaby Lake were able to get their vaunted dynamic attack rolling; lock Ryan McHollister pierced the JBAA defence and then rumbled 20 metres. He was brought down but the ball was quickly recycled and moved out to the right, to the waiting hands of star outside centre Joe Dolesau. Dolesau roared in for a try; James Reekie missed the conversion, the first of four he would miss on the day.

Little did anyone know, but Burnaby’s attack would make few further appearances.

JBAA went back to a tight forward attack. They rarely gave up the ball and took their time grinding the game down. Just minutes before halftime, JBAA drove a maul over the line, Peter Gillespie finding himself on the bottom, with the ball in hand. A five-all tie at half time.

The second half turned out to be more of the same from the Bays, the difference this half being they got results.

An early penalty by Sean White was followed shortly thereafter by a wide attack, finished off by winger Mitch Bancroft. White missed the conversion; like Reekie, he’d have a rough day with the boot, missing five attempts at goal.

The game was sealed by a Jim de Goede try, coming off another impressive series of rucks by the JBAA forwards. At 18-5, Burnaby would need two scores to win.

A late second try by Dolesau gave a glimmer of hope to the Lakers, but with another missed conversion by Reekie, it remained a tall order for Burnaby.

It was.

“They outplayed us,” said Burnaby Lake captain Mike Gough.

“We knew our forward pack would need to match their’s, at least,” said victorious captain Spencer Dalziel.

Burnaby Lake Rugby Club 17 - 13 Velox Valkyries

clientuploads/-Photos_NewsandEvent_Articles/Womens Club/2012-13/WEB-BLRC-trophy-lift-womens.jpgA dominant first half by the Burnaby Lake women was just enough against the Velox Valkyries to win the Gordon Harris Memorial Cup, emblematic of the 2013 BC Rugby Adidas women’s championship.

The game’s 17-13 final score was about right, as Burnaby roared out to a lead, only to be nearly drawn all the way back in by Velox in the second half.

Velox were second best at the breakdown in the first half; despite possession they came away with only Monique Boag’s penalty, against three penalties from Julia Sugawara and a try by Abby Goodwin.

The second half went completely the other way. Velox had struggled to retain possession in the first half, now they were winning their rucks and they were rewarded for it.  Velox scored two tries, by captain Brittany Sims and fullback Selina McGinnis; the Valkyries looked ascendant.

But Burnaby managed to find just enough in the late going to hold on. They were definitely on the defensive, as they took penalty after penalty until finally Maria Gallo was yellow carded for taking the last of one-too-many infringements.

Burnaby spent the rest of the game down a player but the advantage went unexploited by Velox, who had inexplicably lost their rhythm. Burnaby even managed a foray of their own, leading to a final penalty attempt for Sugawara. The Burnaby scrum half nailed it and the referee blew for full time.

“We targeted beating them to the ball. It’s our style of play,” said Sugawara.  

Burnaby Lake Rugby Club 25 - 35 UVic Norsemen

https://ivrnethosting.com/bcrugby/clientuploads/-Photos_NewsandEvent_Articles/Men's Club/2012-13/WEB-UVic-Norsemen-2013-Ceili's-Cup-Champs.jpgTwo late tries by Luke McCluskey and Kapi Vataiki sealed the First Division Ceili’s Cup championship for the University of Victoria over a very combative Burnaby Lake. Burnaby forward power was nearly too much for the students, but their fitness and a wide open attack proved the difference.

In a tense, back and forth affair, UVic denied Burnaby Lake their second title of the day, running out 35-25 winners.

It was 15-10 at halftime, a score kept close by the fine kicking of Fergus Hall. Burnaby had dominated the first 40 minutes as UVic struggled to find their game.

The two late tries scored by UVic’s speeding substitute wingers added to earlier tallies by centre Dustin Dobravsky and winger Keenan Horton. Fergus Hall kicked 15 points.

Burnaby Lake were led by captain and second row Alec Douglas’ two tries. His side used their heavier and more experienced pack to control the set pieces and, for almost long enough, they kept the game from the open spaces UVic preferred. Anare Tuidraki also added a try for his side. Burnaby fly half Nolan Shelley kicked 10 points.

Douglas’s two tries were demonstrative of Burnaby’s play on the day, tight support runs, targeted to slow up UVic’s expansive game. It was almost enough.

“It was a good season – we won 12 in a row. You’d like to win the final,” said Douglas. “Brain farts killed us in the end but I’m proud of the boys.”

The UVic win was a true club effort, said flanker Jeff Nishima-Miller.

“We had so many injuries all year,” he said. “We had to call guys up from the thirds all the time. We learned to play with heart.”


BC Rugby Saturday Scoreboard:


Women's Adidas Premiership - Gordon Harris Memorial Cup
Burnaby Lake Rugby Club 17 - 13 Velox Valkyries

Ceili's Cup Men's First Division Final
Burnaby Lake Rugby Club 25 - 35 UVic Norsemen

Canadian Direct Insurance Premier League Final - Rounsefell Cup
James Bay Athletic Association 18 - 10 Burnaby Lake Rugby Club



Division III - Tier A Final
Brit Lions 7 - 30 Capilano(A) RFC

Division III - Tier B Final
Capilano(B) RFC 27 - 12 Abbotsford RFC

Okanagan Spring Brewery Men's League 2 Final
Surrey Beavers Athletic Association 26 - 36 Abbotsford RFC

Okanagan Spring Brewery Men's League 1 Final
Vancouver Rowing Club 31 - 27 Abbotsford RFC


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012