Glen McKinnon recognized as Canadian Direct Insurance Player of the Year
Published Friday, December 7, 2012
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

clientuploads/-Photos_NewsandEvent_Articles/Men's Club/2012/WEB-Glen-McKinnon-Player-of-the-Year.jpg

VANCOUVER - Capilano RFC's Glen McKinnon will be recognized as BC Rugby's 2012 Canadian Direct Insurance Men's Player of the Year this Saturday at Klahanie Park. A standout no. 8, McKinnon was instrumental in seeing his club lift their first Rounsefell Cup since 2005 when they defeated James Bay 22-21 last May in a championship thriller.

During the 2012 Canadian Direct Insurance Premier League season, McKinnon ranked third in try-scoring with seven tallies (35 pts). McKinnon was also a key member of Capilano's run to the 2011 Miller Cup, the Elite Lower Mainland division title.

"Glen was vital to our success last year," said Capilano's head coach Tom Larisch. "He causes absolute havoc for the opposition at the breakdown and always seems to find the ball around the field."

Sporting an iconic red beard, McKinnon is often the first at a ruck and renowned for his bruising tackles. The 27-year-old is the first Capilano to be named Player of the Year since Mike Andrew was recognized back in 2005.

"Glen has been one of the top players in the league for years now. I believe he could fit right into a Test match for our country if called upon," added Larisch. "He is extremely consistent on game day and is always one of the best players on the field. His work rate and durability is exceptional."

Fellow Capilano RFC standouts to receive votes for Player of the Year included scrum half Matt Yanagiya and fly half and Captain Charlie Jones.

Canadian Direct Insurance Players of the Year
2011-12: Glen McKinnon (Capilano RFC)
2010-11: Ed Fairhurst (UBCOB Ravens)
2009-10: David Spicer (UVic Vikes)
2008-09: Eric Wilson (Meraloma Rugby Club)
2007-08 Dave Biddle (Meraloma Rugby Club)
2006-07: Adam Van Staveren (Bayside AA)
2005-06: DTH van der Merwe (James Bay AA)
2004-05: Mike Andrew (Capilano RFC)
*2003-04: Not Awarded  
2002-03: Pat Riordan (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
2001-02: Mark Lawson (UVic Vikes)

NOTE: McKinnon will be recognized on Saturday at 2:00pm during Capilano's annual Christmas Toy and Food Drive at Klahanie Park (305 Klahanie Court) in West Vancouver.

The 2012 Canadian Direct Insurance Women's Player of the Year will be announced later in December.  

Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012