UBCOB Ravens blank Cowichan 61-0 in U19 Provincial Final
Published Saturday, November 24, 2012
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications


VANCOUVER - The UBC Old Boy Ravens are U19 men's provincial champions after producing a convincing 61-0 win over Cowichan Rugby Club on Saturday afternoon at Jericho Park. Paced by Captain and no. 8 Doug Del Monaco's four tries - two in each half - the Ravens jumped out to a 36-0 lead at the break and never looked back.

The Ravens are the fourth consecutive Lower Mainland side to lift the U19 provincial title with Capilano (2011), Vancouver Rowing Club (2010) and Abbotsford (2009) having previously been crowned champions.

On Saturday the Ravens scored just four minutes into the match when Torin O'Regan slipped through for a quick 5-0 lead. Up next was Alex Lee who found space down the left wing and touched down to have the home side up 10-0 early on.

Cowichan found themselves on the back foot and struggled to match the Ravens' pressure. Shortly after Lee went through, a Ravens rolling maul took them into the attacking 22 and eventually saw Del Monaco break off and spring through for his first score. Del Monaco would tally a second shortly after with Tanner Price and Karsten Leitner each going over for the fifth and sixth tries of the half. Jeremy Gardner went 3-for-6 on conversion attempts for a 36-0 half time lead.

"We definitely played to our strengths and when things started going well we really fed off each others' energy," said Del Monaco after the game. "We couldn't have played any better."

Winger Michael Rosen was next to go over for a try as the Ravens pack drove their way deep into the half and spun it wide to eventually see the speedster dot down in the far corner. Scrum half Ryan Mills and Trystan Clioronomos combined for two tries before Del Monaco capped off his impressive performance with another two scores.

"This is one of the most talented groups I've ever coached," said Ravens coach Dimitri Gotsopoulos who along with co-coach Garrett Garbe led the side to a near-perfect 9-1 season. "The guys trained hard all year and really deserved this. Today they came in expecting a hard game and really earned the win."

1. Brennan Bonar, 2. Gregor Grantham, 3. Cole Milne, 4. Rhys Fowler, 5. Cody Wolff, 6. George Barton, 7. James O'Neill, 8. Robert Bartlett, 9. Jenner Teufel, 10. Cameron Hall, 11. Quinton Ogden, 12. Mike Needham, 13. Wesley Wong, 14. Antonio Corbin, 15. Cody Milne, 16. Donovan Stoochnoff, 17. Ben Human, 18. Gabiro Nabea Bucyana, 19. Nik Hildebrand, 20. AJ Howard, 21. Reiley Hjort, 22. Sam Anderson

UBCOB Ravens:
1. Sammy Rowan, 2. Trystan Clioronomos, 3. Guido Suez, 4. Gregg Hook, 5. Chris Truyens, 6. Alex Lee, 7. Jaco Ikeda, 8. Doug Delmonaco, 9. Ryan Mills, 10. Matt Law, 11. Karsten Leitner, 12. Jake Wolfman, 13. Tanner Price, 14. Torin O'Regan, 15. Jeremy Gardner, 16. Curtis Delmonico, 17. Gabe Gutierrez, 18. Brett McKendrick, 19. Luka Djorovic, 20. Nick Morrison, 21. Josh Sendler, 22. Michael Rozen

In the BC Rugby Union Tier Two U19 championship game, the Kelowna Crows defeated United Rugby Club by a score of 21-5.

BC U19 Provincial Finals Results
2012: UBCOB Ravens 61, Cowichan 0
2011: Capilano 46, Castaway Wanderers 5
2010: Vancouver Rowing Club 50, Castaway Wanderers 0
2009: Abbotsford 22, James Bay 10
2008: Castaway Wanderers 17, Abbotsford 12
2007: Capilano 22, Cowichan 17
2006: Capilano def. Cowichan
2005: Capilano 22, James Bay 12
2004: Cowichan 20, Bayside 14
2003: Cowichan 22, Burnaby 12


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012