UBC's Hamm named a Canada West All-Star for a third straight season
Published Monday, October 22, 2012
by UBC Thunderbirds Communications

clientuploads/-Photos_NewsandEvent_Articles/Womens Club/2012-13/WEB Megan Hamm.jpg
Vancouver, BC - Three UBC Thunderbirds were named to the Canada West All-Star team in women's rugby this past weekend.

Prop Carolyn McEwen (St.George, ON), second row Hayley Glendinning (Kamloops, BC), and fly half Megan Hamm (Aldergrove, BC) were selected among the top 15 players in women's rugby. For Hamm it is third straight year she has earned Canada West honours. She was also the Canada West Rookie of the Year in 2010. For McEwen and Glendinning it is their first time being selected to the conference all-star team.

Chelsea Guthrie of Alberta, who led the conference champion Pandas during the season with a conference-best six tries, has been selected 2012 Canada West women's rugby Most Valuable Player.

Canada West women's rugby Rookie of the Year, Alberta's Amee Svatos, scored three tries in four conference season matches for the Alberta Pandas as. The Pandas, host of the 2012 conference championship, went 4-0-0 during the season.

Winning the Student-Athlete and Community Service award is Tarin Arndt of the Calgary Dinos. Arndt is very active in community and volunteer evdeavours that cover the globe. In 2010 she founded T4A Apparel - Tie Dye For Africa, a not-for profit fundraising initiative aimed to raise money for The Napenda Rescue Foundation, KCC Slum &  Living Positive Mlolongo through hand-made tie dye t-shirts. A year later, Arndt founded the Napenda Rescue Foundation to provide children, women and people affected by HIV/AIDS infection in East Africa with health pre-requisites such as shelter, education, social security, social relations, food, income, empowerment, and stable ecosystem.

For the fourth time in his career, Alberta Pandas head coach Matt Parrish has been voted Coach of the Year. Parrish, in his night season, led the Pandas to a perfect 4-0-0 conference record in 2012, including a win over six-time defending conference champion Lethbridge in the team's final regular season match. Alberta went on to claim victory in the Canada West Finbal Four and advance to CIS Nationals

Following is a list of the 2012 Canada West women's rugby Awards & All-Stars:

Most Valuable Player: Chelsea Guthrie, Alberta
Rookie of the Year: Amee Svatos, Alberta
Student Athlete/Community Service: Tarin Arndt, Calgary
Coach of the Year: Matt Parrish, Alberta


Brandi Van Eeuwen, Lethbridge
Carolyn McEwen, UBC

Carmen Hobbs, Alberta

2nd Row
Jade Menin, Calgar
Haley Glendinning, UBC

Back Row
Lindsey Duxbury, Lethbridge
Amee Svatos, Alberta
Miranda Monty, Alberta

Scrum Half
Chelsea Guthrie, Alberta

Fly Half
Megan Hamm, UBC

Brynna Walker
Amanda Williams

Back 3
Kelcey Leavitt, Calgary
Paula Woynarowsky, Lethbridge
Rebecca Fairbairn, Alberta

Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012