CRC: Can the Tyee stop Onatrio from repeating as champions?
Published Friday, September 14, 2012
by Tyee Communications

Definition of Spoiler: One who or that which causes to spoil.

That’s the role Pacific Tyee are hoping to play Saturday evening at Westhills Stadium when they meet Ontario Blues in their only home game of the CRC season. Game time is 7 p.m.

With no hope of realizing a winning season, the 1-3 Tyee can make their last game an important one by downing the defending champion Blues. The Blues currently sit second in CRC standings with a 2-1 record. The leaders are Prairie Wolf Pack at 3-1.

There are still several scenarios on how the title package plays out but the Pack meets third place Rock in Calgary shortly before the Tyee-Blues kickoff Saturday night.

The simple format: If the Pack defeat Rock and Tyee beat back Blues then it’s all over, Pack take home the MacTier Cup. And a Tyee win and Rock loss would also propel the Vancouver Island team into third place.

That’s the goal for Tyee coach John MacMillan who saw his team defeat Blues 36-31 on September 1 for their lone win of the season, a game that saw the lead change seven times.

“They’ll (Blues) definitely be out to even things up,” said MacMillan. “They think we were just lucky to beat them two weeks ago. So it just adds more fuel to the fire in what is a great rivalry between Ontario and BC.”

MacMillan also stated one-third of his lineup will be different from the one that defeated Blues and will include national players Phil Mack, Harry Jones, Brodie Henderson and Connor Braid.

The club will also utilize five members of the national under 20 team.
It should be an exciting match.

Tickets for the game are available at the front desk of Eagle Ridge Arena at City Centre Park or at the gate on game day, Adults $12 and Youth $6.

Pacific Tyee Line Up
1. Anthony Luca   Burnaby Lake RC  Pitt Meadows BC
2. Micha Govorchin  Burnaby Lake RC  North Delta, BC
3. Cole Racine James Bay AA Markham, ON
4. Luke Campbell UVIC Vikes  Victoria BC
5. Aaron Flagg Abbotsford RFC Abbotsford, BC
6. Alex Boyd Maralomas RC  Winnipeg MB
7. Jonathan Hill UBCOB Ravens  Edmonton AB
8. Callum Morrison  James Bay AA  Victoria BC
9. Phil Mack  UVIC Vikes  Victoria, BC
10. Connor Braid  James Bay AA  Victoria, BC
11. Conrad Rybkowski Abbotsford RFC Abbotsford, BC
12. Brodie Henderson Chilliwack RFC Chilliwack BC
13. Mike Fuailefau  Castaway Wanderers RC Victoria BC
14. Clayton Meeres Abbotsford RFC  Chilliwack, BC
15. Harry Jones  Capilano RC  Vancouver, BC
16. Noah Barker James Bay AA  Courtenay BC
17. Andrew Lackner  Burnaby Lake RC  Pitt Meadows BC
18. Liam Chisholm  UVIC Vikes  Kenora, ON
19. Will Campbell UVIC Vikes  Toronto ON
20. Cody Rockson  Bayside RC  Langley BC
21. Pat Kay Cowichan RFC Duncan, BC
22. Bryan Tyree Meraloma RC Vancouver, BC

Ontario Blues Line Up
1. Doug Woolridge  Lindsay
2. Ray Barkwill  Niagara/Crusaders
3. Tom Dolezel  London
4. Henry Mcqueen  Balmy Beach
5. Scott Dunham  Balmy Beach
6. John Moonlight  Ajax
7. Alistair Clarke  Crusaders
8. Tyler Ardron  McMaster University
9. Jamie Mackenzie  Oakville
10. Derek Daypuck  London
11. Ryan Macsween  Balmy Beach
12. Dan West  Crusaders
13. Jordan Wilson-Ross  Barrie
14. Dan Moor    Balmy Beach
15. Ryan Tomlinson  Barrie

16. Creag Johnston  Toronto Scottish
17. JT Rowbotham  Lindsay/Irish
18. Andrew Crow  Balmy Beach
19. Gord Kehoe    Barrie
20. Kyle Armstrong  Ajax
21. Lucas Hammond  Toronto Nomads
22. Rory Tomlinson  Barrie

CRC Referee: David Smortchevsky

Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012