Burnaby men and women lift third straight BC Sevens Series titles
Published Friday, August 31, 2012

clientuploads/-Photos_NewsandEvent_Articles/7s Series/2012/WEB-BLRC-2012-7s-champs.jpg
BURNABY, BC - The 2012 summer sevens season in BC has officially come to a close and for the third straight year, Burnaby Lake Rugby Club have been crowned BC Sevens Series champions in both the men's and women's divisions.

This year's series had three official stops; Vancouver Rugby Sevens (June 16), Burnaby Lake Lighthouse Sevens (July 7) and the Abbotsford Kukri Sevens (July 28). Burnaby's men's team lifted two of the three titles but faced stiff competition throughout the series from runners up Bayside, third place Abbotsford and fourth place Meraloma. Abbotsford proved they will be a contender for years to come and nearly pipped the reigning champions in this year's Kukri Sevens cup final played at CFV Exhibition Park.

In the women's division a young Burnaby side came away with one trophy as the two remaining titles went to emerging powerhouse Seattle Mudhens. Abbotsford's women's team finished second in the standings with 18 points, while Meraloma wrapped up the series in third with six points.

Women's Standings - BC Sevens Series
34 pts - Burnaby Lake Rugby Club
18 pts - Abbotsford RFC
6 pts - Meraloma Rugby Club

A young Burnaby women's side missed out on the cup final at the series opener Vancouver Rugby Sevens in June, but rallied to defend their title at the Burnaby Lake Lighthouse Sevens tournament in July. The squad then advanced to the cup final at the Abbotsford Rugby Sevens but were beaten by the Mudhens 24-10.

"This season was a year of rebuilding for us as a number of the girls had never played sevens before. But even though we were young, we played enough quality games to go out and win the series again," said Burnaby women's sevens coach Roko Kapaiwai. "We were very fortunate to hold on to our title as the level of quality sevens in the women's division has really improved - especially if you look back to when the series started three years ago."

Men's Standings - BC Sevens Series
40 pts - Burnaby Lake Rugby Club
24 pts - Bayside Athletic Association
20 pts - Abbotsford RFC
16 pts - Meraloma Rugby club

Burnaby kicked off this year's series with a convincing 42-0 cup final victory over Bayside AA at the Vancouver event. At the Burnaby Lake Lighthouse Sevens, the second stop on this year's circuit, Burnaby was outmatched and watched from the sidelines as Bayside and eventual champions Old Puget Sound Beach battled in the cup final. The BC Sevens Series wrapped up with a thriller at the Abbotsford Kukri Sevens as tournament hosts Abby were defeated 35-19 by Burnaby Lake.

"The men's series was really exciting this year and although Burnaby struggled with some numbers due to the club's Rugby League commitments, the team maintained consistency throughout the summer. Again, you could see the level of sevens has really improved in the series and teams are understanding how to play the game," Kapaiwai added. "Abbotsford in particular have really improved and I could see them going all the way next year and maybe even taking the title."

For more information on the BC Sevens Series visit www.bcrugby7s.com


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012