CRC: National team stars highlight Blues versus Tyee clash
Published Wednesday, August 29, 2012
by Mark Winokur, Ontario Blues

The Ontario Blues (1-0) host Pacific Tyee (0-2) on Saturday, September 1st at Burlington and over a dozen capped sevens and 15s players will be on display as both teams continue their chase of the Canadian Rugby Championship title.
The Blues will add John Moonlight, Jamie Mackenzie and Tyler Ardron, along with talisman lock Scott Dunham, to their lineup from last weeks team that edged The Rock 23-19, while Phil Mack (UVic Vikes), Connor Braid (James Bay), Conor Trainor (Western), Sean Duke (UVic Vikes) and Harry Jones (Capilano) bolster the Tyee game sheet after their 45-19 loss to the Wolfpack in Calgary.  The Blues also feature Tom Dolezel and Doug Wooldridge, who were in the Canada test side in June, along with their most capped player, captain Derek Daypuck.
“Sure, both teams will have their big names involved,” said Blues manager Mark Winokur, “but this is Ontario v BC, essentially, and it wont be hard for anyone to get up for this one. Should be a great day for the fans, no doubt”
In an ironic twist, Tyee coach John Macmillan is the former Ontario coach and a longtime colleague of Blues manager Winokur; and Tyee manager Todd Silverthorn is Blues coach Chris Silverthorns’ younger brother.
“It will be weird looking over at the Pacific bench and seeing John and Todd there, but I'm sure we will get over it,” said Chris Silverthorn in jest. “A drink afterwards, maybe, but not before!”
The Blues vs Tyee game kicks off at 430, with the University of Guelph facing McMaster University in the first game at 130. Burlington RFC is located at the end of Fairview St east of Appleby Line, Burlington (www.burlingtoncentaurs.com)

Pacific Tyee Roster
1. Anthony Luca   Burnaby Lake RC  Pitt Meadows BC
2. Micha Govorchin  Burnaby Lake RC  North Delta, BC
3. Scott Mackay   Burnaby Lake RC  North Vancouver BC
4. Luke Campbell UVIC Vikes  Victoria BC
5. Liam Chisholm  UVIC Vikes  Kenora, ON    
6. Alex Boyd Maralomas RC  Winnipeg MB
7. Thyssen de Goede  James Bay AA  Courtenay BC
8. Callum Morrison  James Bay AA  Victoria BC
9. Sean White  James Bay AA  Victoria, BC
10. Connor Braid  James Bay AA  Victoria, BC
11. Sean Duke  UVIC Vikes  Vancouver, BC
12. Harry Jones  Capilano RC  Vancouver, BC
13. Conor Trainor   Old Boy Ravens  Vancouver, BC
14. Conrad Rybkowski  Abbotsford RFC Abbotsford BC
15. Phil Mack  UVIC Vikes  Victoria, BC
16. Noah Barker James Bay AA  Courtenay BC
17. Andrew Lackner  Burnaby Lake RC  Pitt Meadows BC
18. Toby Berg  Velox RC  Denman Island, BC
19. Will Campbell UVIC Vikes  Toronto ON
20. Jonathan Hill UBCOB Ravens  Edmonton AB
21. Cody Rockson  Bayside RC  Langley BC
22. Mike Fuailefau  Castaway Wanderers RC Victoria BC

Head Coach: John MacMillan
Manager: Todd Silverthorn

Ontario Blues Roster
1 Doug Wooldridge, Lindsay
2 Ray Barkwill, Niagara/Oakville
3 Tom Dolezel, London
4 Tyler Ardron, McMaster U.
5 Scott Dunham, Balmy Beach
6 John Moonlight, Ajax
7 Alistair Clark, Oakville
8 Seb Pearson, Lindsay/London
9 Kyle Armstrong, Ajax
10 Liam Underwood, Balmy Beach
11 Ryan Macsween, Balmy Beach
12 Derek Daypuck, London C
13 Jordan Wilson-Ross, Barrie
14 Lucas Hammond, Toronto Nomads
15 Ryan Tomlinson, Barrie
16 Rob Brouwer, Lindsay
17 JT Rowbotham, Lindsay
18 Jacob Rumball, Balmy Beach
19 Andrew Crow, Balmy Beach
20 Jamie Mackenzie, Oakville
21 Rory Tomlinson, Barrie
22 Dan Moor Balmy Beach
Coach: Chris Silverthorn
Assistant coaches: Paul Connelly, Paul Ambrose
Manage: Mark Winokur
AT: Mike Cook
Video Analyst: Rodin Lozada
Dr John Ho

Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012