BC U19s defeat Atlantic at CRC in Edmonton
Published Friday, July 13, 2012
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

EDMONTON - British Columbia's U19 men's provincial team blanked the Atlantic Rock 55-0 and are now 2-0 at the U19 Canadian Rugby Championship. BC will face tournament favourites and reigning champs Ontario on Saturday.

On Friday it was all one way traffic for BC as they ran in eight tries against the Atlantic. Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake) and Tua Va'a (Velox Valhallians) recorded two tries apiece with single tallies scored by Pat Kay (UVic VIkes), Lucas Martin (Capilano RFC), Jorden Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC) and Mike Dalsin (Castaway Wanderers). Deon Smith (Abbotsford RFC) and Kay each had two conversions and Liam Murphy-Burke (UBC Thunderbirds) had one as well.

BC now face rivals Ontario at 3:00pm on Saturday at Nor'Westers Athletic Association Fields.

"At the moment it's even money as to the favourite and it should be a good game. Everyone is looking forward to it," said Canada U20 coach Mike Shelley. "Ontario are coming off a day's rest and it's the first of two big games for BC over the weekend as they play the Wolfpack on Sunday."

U19 Men's Canadian Rugby Championship - July 11-15:
All games at Nor'Westers Athletic Association Fields in Edmonton, Alberta
July 12 - 1:30pm: British Columbia 41-17 Voyageurs (Eastern Ontario & Quebec)
July 13 - 3:00pm: British Columbia 55-0 Atlantic
July 14 - 3:00pm: British Columbia vs Ontario
July 15 - 3:00pm: British Columbia vs Prairie Wolf Pack

BC U19 Roster
Paul Ahn (UBC Thunderbirds)
Callum Busfield (UVic Vikes)
Peter Chauvel (Vancouver Rowing Club)
Jared Curry (Kelowna Crows RFC)
Mike Dalsin (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Kylan Gibbs (Kelowna Crows)
Stephen Grdic (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Connor Hunter (Abbotsford RFC)
Patrick Kay (UVic Vikes)
Jean Koorsten (United Rugby Club)
Daniel Lee (Bayside Athletic Association)
Kyle Leeners (UBC Thunderbirds)
Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC)
Lucas Martin (Capilano RFC)
Alex Mascott (UBC Thunderbirds)
Kieran Mcauley (James Bay Athletic Association)
Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Liam Murphy-Burke (UBC Thunderbirds)
Michael O'Toole (UBC Thunderbirds)
Jordan Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC)
Deon Smit (Abbotsford RFC)
Christian Styles (Abbotsford RFC)
Charlie Thorpe (UBC Thunderbirds)
Tua Va'a (Velox Valhallians RFC)
Trevor de Zeeuw (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Head Coach: Kris de Scossa
Assistant Coach: Dave Murphy
Manager: Clive Fairs
Physio: Alvin Tseng


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012