BC U19 men's provincial team headed to Canadian Rugby Championship
Published Tuesday, July 10, 2012
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

BC U19s starting lineup vs Voyageurs (July 12 - 1:30pm KO)
1. Paul Ahn (UBC Thunderbirds); 2. Alex Mascott (UBC Thunderbirds); 3. Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC); 4. Stephen Grdic (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 5. Michael O'Toole (UBC Thunderbirds); 6. Charlie Thorpe (UBC Thunderbirds); 7. Peter Chauvel (Vancouver Rowing Club); 8. Jordan Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC); 9. Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club); 10. Connor Hunter (Abbotsford RFC); 11. Christian Styles (Abbotsford RFC) ; 12. Deon Smit (Abbotsford RFC); 13. Kieran Mcauley (James Bay Athletic Association); 14. Jared Curry (Kelowna Crows RFC); 15. Liam Murphy-Burke (UBC Thunderbirds)

Reserves vs Voyageurs
16. Callum Busfield (UVic Vikes) ; 17. Kylan Gibbs (Kelowna Crows); 18. Daniel Lee (Bayside Athletic Association); 19. Tua Va'a (Velox Valhallians RFC); 20. Mike Dalsin (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 21. Patrick Kay (UVic Vikes); 22. Jean Koorsten (United Rugby Club); Non-dressing reserves: Kyle Leeners (UBC Thunderbirds); Trevor de Zeeuw (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club); Lucas Martin (Capilano RFC)


EDMONTON - The British Columbia U19 men's provincial team kick off a demanding four day schedule on Thursday afternoon as they contest for a national title at the U19 Canadian Rugby Championship in Edmonton. From Thursday through Sunday, BC will scrum down against rivals Ontario and representative sides the Atlantic, Prairie Wolf Pack and Eastern Ontario-Quebec Voyageurs.

U19 Men's Canadian Rugby Championship - July 11-15:
All games at Nor'Westers Athletic Association Fields in Edmonton, Alberta
July 12 - 1:30pm: British Columbia vs Voyageurs (Eastern Ontario & Quebec)
July 13 - 3:00pm: British Columbia vs Atlantic
July 14 - 3:00pm: British Columbia vs Ontario
July 15 - 3:00pm: British Columbia vs Prairie Wolf Pack

The BC squad will be captained by two UBC Thunderbirds and graduates from last year's national championship winning U18 men's provincial team, Alex Mascott and vice-captain Liam Murphy-Burke.

Fellow graduates from the 2011 BC U18 men's team include Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC), Paul Ahn (UBC Thunderbirds), Stephen Grdic (Castaway Wanderers), Dan Lee (Bayside AA), Jordan Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC), Mike Dalsin (Castaway Wanderers), Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake), Pat Kay (UVic Vikes) and Christian Styles (Abbotsford RFC).

"Both Alex and Liam are strong players out of the UBC program and they both have the presence and character to fill these positions," said BC U19 head coach Kris de Scossa. "Some of the lads are new to representative rugby in our BC structure but with a blend of last year's U18 gold medal winning team, we have an exciting mixture headed to the competition and I look forward to seeing how this squad performs together as a team."

Fresh off their campaign with the Canadian national U20 team at the Junior World Rugby Trophy in Salt Lake City, Pat Kay and Mike Dalsin will add further experience to this year's lineup.

"Players to also watch include Canada U19s Jordan Harvey and Connor Hunter, as well as up-and-comers Mike O'Toole and Jean Koorsten," added de Scossa. "This will be a very strong competition and we are going up against teams that are in season at the moment. For some of our players it's been a few months since they have played competitive 15-a-side rugby so it will be definitely be a challenge."

"Our preparations have been well attended and there are a number of coaches including Maria Gallo of Burnaby Lake and Curry Hitchborn of Capilano who have been vital to this team's development," de Scossa added. "BC Provincial Coach and Development Manager Dave Brown has helped immensely and I think our players will certainly be ready for the challenge ahead."

BC U19 Roster
Paul Ahn (UBC Thunderbirds)
Callum Busfield (UVic Vikes)
Peter Chauvel (Vancouver Rowing Club)
Jared Curry (Kelowna Crows RFC)
Mike Dalsin (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Kylan Gibbs (Kelowna Crows)
Stephen Grdic (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
Connor Hunter (Abbotsford RFC)
Patrick Kay (UVic Vikes)
Jean Koorsten (United Rugby Club)
Daniel Lee (Bayside Athletic Association)
Kyle Leeners (UBC Thunderbirds)
Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC)
Lucas Martin (Capilano RFC)
Alex Mascott (UBC Thunderbirds)
Kieran Mcauley (James Bay Athletic Association)
Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Liam Murphy-Burke (UBC Thunderbirds)
Michael O'Toole (UBC Thunderbirds)
Jordan Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC)
Deon Smit (Abbotsford RFC)
Christian Styles (Abbotsford RFC)
Charlie Thorpe (UBC Thunderbirds)
Tua Va'a (Velox Valhallians RFC)
Trevor de Zeeuw (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)

BC U19 Staff
Head Coach: Kris de Scossa
Assistant Coach: Dave Murphy
Manager: Clive Fairs
Physio: Alvin Tseng


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012