Ontario defeats British Columbia in National Women's League final
Published Sunday, July 1, 2012
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

QUEBEC CITY - British Columbia's senior women's provincial team were defeated 26-12 on Sunday in the National Women's League championship final at Laval University in Quebec.

Facing off against Ontario in the national final for the fifth time in six years, BC conceded 10 points in the opening quarter and were unable to rally back.

Canadian national team and Ontario standouts Brooke Hilditch and Cheryl Phillips combined for 10 points in the opening minutes and with a try from Megan Gibbs, led 15-5 at the half. BC's first half score was recorded by Hilary Leith (Capilano RFC).

Phillips added another six points through two penalties to extend Ontario's lead to 21-5 early in the second half. BC's half back Julia Sugawara (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club) sparked an offensive run in the second half dotting down and then converted her own try to make it 21-12.

Ontario's Lori Josephson put the game out of reach, however, crossing the goal line in the final 10 minutes to make it 26-12.

"The telling sign of the game was [Ontario] were very responsible with the ball and they made fewer mistakes than we did," said BC head coach Pat Fleck. "We had too many handling errors at key moments and the penalty count was much higher on our side. We looked dangerous when we had the ball and created opportunities, but we turned the ball over just a little too often. Ontario didn't cut us apart anywhere in particular and I would say we took it to them in the set pieces."

Featuring a lineup with several graduates from last year's U20 and U23 programs, BC went 1-2 at the 2012 tournament, losing to Ontario 39-24 on Thursday and defeated 2011 champions Alberta 31-15 on Friday.

"I think the BC girls have improved a lot from when we started out," Fleck added. "They certainly played with pride and respect but overall against Ontario it just came down to committing a few more errors than they did."

Match Sheet - Ontario vs BC - July 1, 2012
11 :20 Ont. penalty by #15. Cheryl Phillips
15 :45 Ont. try by #10. Brooke Hilditch
16 :30 Ont. convert by #15. Cheryl Phillips
25 :15 ONT try by #7.  Megan Gibbs
30 :47 BC try by #5. Hillary Leith
46 :15 Ont. Penalty by #15. Cheryl Phillips
57 :30 Ont. Penalty by #15. Cheryl Phillips
60 :00 BC try by #10.  Julia Sugawara
60 :51 BC convert by #10. Julia Sugawara
71 :00 Ont. try by #11. Lori Josephson    

BC results at NWL Finals
2012 Runners-up
2011 Third Place
2010 National Champions
2009 Runners-up
2008 National Champions
2007 National Champions

BC Senior Women Roster - 2012
Name - position (club)
Jocelyn Barrieau - Wing/Scrum Half (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Christina Burnham - Scrum Half (Simon Fraser University)
Sarah Byers - Lock (Simon Fraser University)
Amanda Campbell - Fly Half (Velox Valkyries)
Kim Donaldson - Hooker/Prop (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Marlene Donaldson - Prop (Velox Valyries)
Jessica Dovanne - Wing/Centre (Velox Valkyries)
Sarah Gordon - Fly Half (Bayside Athletic Association)
Corinne Jacobsen - Prop (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Shannon Kane - Back Row (Velox Valkyries)
Sagal-Marie Kahin - Lock (Meraloma Rugby Club)
Jozefina Kola - Centre (United Rugby Club)
Hilary Leith - Prop (Capilano RFC)
Devon Luca - Scrum Half (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Carolyn McEwen -Prop (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Alicia Noger - Lock/Back Row (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Jesse Olynyk - Back Row (Velox Valkyries)
Paniz Pahlavanlu - Back Row/Back (United Rugby Club)
Samantha Robb - Back Row (Velox Valkyries)
Stevi Schnoor - Centre (United Rugby Club)
Julia Sugawara - Fly Half (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Natalie Tam - Wing/Scrum Half (Velox Valkyries)
Brittany Waters - Full Back/Centre (Meraloma Rugby Club)
Emily Young - Wing (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)

Team Staff
Head Coach - Pat Fleck
Assistant Coach - Rhodri Hanmer
Manager - Chelsey Minter
Athletic Therapist - Monique Charbonneau

2012 NWL Schedule (EST Times)
June 28, 12:00pm - Game A: Ontario 39 - 24 British Columbia
June 28, 2:30pm - Game B: Alberta 31 - 16 Quebec
June 29, 12:00pm - Game C: Ontario 46 - 21 Quebec
June 29, 2:30pm - Game D:  Alberta 15 - 31 British Columbia
July 1, 10:30am - 3rd/4th playoff: Quebec 22 - 23 Alberta
July 1, 1:00pm 1st/2nd playoff: Ontario 26 - 12 British Columbia


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012