BC advances to National Women's League championship final
Published Friday, June 29, 2012
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

QUEBEC CITY - For the fifth time in six years, British Columbia's senior women's provincial team have advanced to the National Women's League championship final. BC played shorthanded on Friday through three yellow cards and rallied after a thunderstorm delay to defeat 2011 champions Alberta by a score of 31-15. Ontario were also victorious on Friday, defeating Quebec 46-21 to advance to the title match against BC set for 1:00pm EST on Sunday, July 1st.

On Friday, winger Emily Young (Burnaby Lake) paced BC with two tries and additional scores were recorded by captain Julia Sugawara (Burnaby Lake), Stevi Schnoor (United) and Shannon Kane (Velox Valkyries). Sugawara added three conversions to finish the match with a game-high 11 points. Through the opening two games, Young leads BC in try scoring having crossed over for three scores.

"We started well again, scoring quickly in the opening few minutes. But it was a really back and forth game," said BC head coach Pat Fleck. "After two games our players are tired but we are healthy and will be ready for Sunday. We look forward to playing Ontario again, this time for a national championship."

BC will now face Ontario in the final, the same team who dealt them an opening day 39-24 defeat. BC and Ontario clashed in four straight finals from 2007-2010, with BC taking three of those championships. BC's most recent title came in 2010 when they downed Ontario 34-22 at University of Toronto, Scarborough.

BC scoring vs Alberta:
Tries: Emily Young x2, Julia Sugawara, Stevi Schnoor, Shannon Kane
Conversions: Julia Sugawara x 3

2012 NWL Schedule (EST Times)
June 28, 12:00pm - Game A: Ontario 39 - 24 British Columbia
June 28, 2:30pm - Game B: Alberta 31 - 16 Quebec
June 29, 12:00pm - Game C: Ontario 46 - 21 Quebec
June 29, 2:30pm - Game D:  Alberta 15 - 31 British Columbia
July 1, 10:30am - 3rd/4th playoff: Quebec vs Alberta
July 1, 1:00pm 1st/2nd playoff: Ontario vs British Columbia

Head-to-head BC vs Ontario
2012: Round 1 - Ontario 39, BC 24
2010: National Championship -  BC 34, Ontario 22
2009: National Championship - Ontario 20, BC 14
2008: National Championship - BC 22, Ontario 8
2007: National Championship - BC 22, Ontario 15

For more information visit www.nwlrugby.com


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012