BC and Ontario to renew rivalry in 2012 NWL opener
BC starting lineup announced for Thursday's clash
Published Wednesday, June 27, 2012
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

QUEBEC CITY - British Columbia's senior women's provincial team will renew their rivalry with Eastern foe Ontario on Thursday morning, as the two sides scrum down in the 2012 National Women's League Finals opener at Laval University in Quebec City.

Match Info
Thurs. June 28, 2012 - BC Sr Women vs Ontario (Laval University) 9:00am PST

BC vs Ontario
Heading into the 2011 NWL Finals in Vancouver last summer, BC and Ontario had clashed in four straight national championships. BC took home the gold in 2007, '08 and '10, while Ontario were crowned national champs in 2009. BC missed out on last year's title match where Alberta defeated Ontario 27-17 and did not face Ontario during the 2011 competition.

This year BC has drawn 2011 runners-up Ontario in the first round as the two sides kick off their three-game schedules on Thursday morning.

"Ontario has a number of national team 15s and sevens players who play at a high level so I think we know what to expect," said BC's head coach Pat Fleck.

Fleck announced his starting 15 on Wednesday afternoon and has appointed Canadian national team veteran and Burnaby Lake Rugby Club standout Juila Sugawara as captain. Sugawara has proven herself at the international level in both 15s and sevens and was a key member of Canada's entry to the 2010 Women's Rugby World Cup. More recently Sugawara has been instrumental in Burnaby Lake Rugby Club's recent success with the club lifting provincial, regional and seven-a-side titles in 2011 and finished as runners-up in the 2012 Adidas Premiership.

"Julia characterizes the type of decision making and skill set that I would like to see in a leader," Fleck said. "She has been involved in the provincial program for a number of years, she knows the systems and with her enthusiasm seems to be the right thing for the team this year."

Sugawara will start at fly half on Thursday, forming a half back pairing with scrum half Christina Burnham (Simon Fraser University).

For more information on the NWL Finals visit www.nwlrugby.com

Head-to-head BC vs Ontario
2010: National Championship -  BC 34, Ontario 22
2009: National Championship - Ontario 20, BC 14
2008: National Championship - BC 22, Ontario 8
2007: National Championship - BC 22, Ontario 15

BC Roster vs Ontario - June 28, 2012
1. Corinne Jacobsen (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
2. Kim Donaldson (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
3. Hilary Leith (Capilano RFC)
4. Sarah Byers (Simon Fraser University)
5. Alicia Noger (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
6. Samantah Robb (Velox Valkyries)
7. Shannon Kane (Velox Valkyries)
8. Jesse Olynyk (Velox Valkyries)
9. Christina Burnham (Simon Fraser University)
10. Julia Sugawara (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club) - Capt.
11. Natalie Tam (Velox Valkyries)
12. Stevi Schnoor (United Rugby Club)
13. Jessica Dovanne (Velox Valkyries)
14. Emily Young (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
15. Brittany Waters (Meraloma Rugby Club)

Jocelyn Barrieau (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Amanda Campbell (Velox Valkyries)
Marlene Donaldson (Velox Valkyries)
Sarah Gordon (Bayside Athletic Association)
Sagal-Marie Kahin (Meraloma Rugby Club)
Jozefina Kola (United Rugby Club)
Devon Luca (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Carolyn McEwen (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)
Paniz Pahlavanlu (United Rugby Club)

Team Staff
Head Coach - Pat Fleck
Assistant Coach - Rhodri Hanmer
Manager - Chelsey Minter
Athletic Therapist - Monique Charbonneau

2012 NWL Schedule (EST Times)
June 28, 12:00pm - Game A: Ontario vs British Columbia
June 28, 2:30pm - Game B: Alberta vs Quebec
June 29, 12:00pm - Game C: Winner of 'A' vs Loser of 'B'
June 29, 2:30pm - Game D:  Winner of 'B' vs Loser of 'A'
July 1, 10:30am - 3rd/4th playoff: Loser of 'C' vs Loser of 'D'
July 1, 1:00pm 1st/2nd playoff: Winner 'C' vs Winner of 'D'


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012