BC to face Ontario in round one of 2012 NWL Finals
Published Wednesday, June 20, 2012
by Rugby Canada Communications

British Columbia's senior women's provincial team will assemble at Laval University in Quebec City next week for the 2012 National Women's League Finals. Third-seeded BC open their 2012 campaign against second-seeded Ontario at 12pm EST (9am PST) on Thursday, June 28th.

From June 28 to July 1st, Quebec City and the Université Laval will host the competition consisting of four senior tier one teams. Representing Eastern Canada is Ontario and Quebec, while British Columbia and defending champions Alberta represent the west. The teams will battle it out in a three day tournament for the championship and provincial rugby supremacy.

The National Women’s League is Canada’s top domestic women’s rugby competition that takes place annually. The league was established to provide top competition for Canadian women’s rugby and gather the country’s upcoming talent in one place. Last year saw Alberta take the Tier 1 championship in a 27-17 victory over Ontario last July in Vancouver, BC.

Selectors for Canada’s National Senior Women’s team will be in attendance to analyze the talent level and identified the most skilled women in the competition.

The competition will open on Thursday June 28 with a battle of East versus West, as day will see Ontario take on BC in game A at noon EST, followed by Alberta and Quebec for game B at 2:30 PM EST. The competition will continue the following day, as the winners of each match will take on the losers of the other on the following day for games C and D.

After a break on Saturday, the finals will take place on 1 July Sunday, where the winners of games C and D will battle for gold, while the losing teams will take each other on to determine 3rd and 4th place.

The Université Laval is the perfect location to host a competition such as the NWL. The campus provides a central location for matches, training, accommodations and hospitality.

Rugby Canada is honoured to have Quebec City host the competition and cannot wait for Canadians to gather from across the country to observe, support and cheer on the present and future of Canadian Women’s rugby

Competition Schedule:

28 June Thursday
12:00 PM EST: Game A. 2. Ontario vs 3. BC
2:30 PM EST: Game B. 1. Alberta vs 4. Quebec

29 June Friday
12:00 PM EST: Game C. Winner of A vs Loser of B
2:30 PM EST: Game D. Winner of B vs Loser of A

1 July Sunday
10:30 AM EST: Game E. Loser of C vs. Loser of D (For 3rd/4th)
1:00 PM EST: Game F. Winner of vs Winner of D (For 1st/2nd)


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012