Canada U17s to face off against Vancouver Island and Lower Mainland Selects
Published Tuesday, February 21, 2012 5:00 am
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

Victoria, BC: The Canadian Men's Under-17 national team will scrum down in a series of trial matches this week against regional representative sides from Vancouver Island and the Lower Mainland.

The U17 squad assembled at Shawnigan Lake School last Friday for a 10-day camp, the final selection tool before national selectors announce their traveling roster headed to the prestigious Wellington Festival in England.

Thursday. February 23 - Canada U17 vs Vancouver Island Selects (Bear Mountain Stadium, Langford) 7:00pm kick off

Sat. February 25 - Canada U17 vs BC Lower Mainland Selects (Brockton Oval, Stanley Park) 1:30pm kick off

Rugby Canada's High Performance Staff have been holding training sessions, fitness drills and trials to test the athletes in an elite sporting environment. The ultimate stage for the athletes to display their skills will be pitting them against two representative sides on the Island and Lower Mainland, two regions known as rugby hot beds in Canada.

In recent years the Canada U17 squad has had mixed results during their tours of BC. Last year, the Canada U17s were edged 17-14 by an Island Selects side comprised of U17 and U18 players.

The 2011 match against the Lower Mainland Selects was a different story, as the national side bounced back with an impressive 32-12 win, just three days later at Brockton Oval in Vancouver.

"The BC event we have held these past two years has really worked well for the program," said Canadian U17 coach Jim Delaney in a recent Rugby Canada release. "We are together for close to 10 or 11 days where we have two high quality games and the environment we create and the schedule of practice, travel and playing is exactly what we expect to experience in Wellington."

Canada U17 Roster
Name (Province) High School/Club
Nicholas Andrews (BC) Lord Tweedsmuir/ Surrey Beavers AA
Randall Barton (BC) Shawnigan LakeSchool/ Cowichan Rugby Club
Lucas Bradley (BC) Alberni D.S.S./Port Alberni
Mitch Brant (UK) St. Benedict's/ Wasps
Paul Ciulini (ON) St Joan of Arc/ Aurora Barbarians
Thomas Chan (ON) Lakefield College/ Peterborough
Andrew Coe (ON) Bill Crothers/Markham Irish
Peter John Collins (ON) St. Michael's College/Oakville Crusaders
Shane Dagg (BC) South Delta SS/Bayside
Michael Douros (ON) Senator O'Connor/Balmy Beach
Giuseppe Du Toit (BC) Shawnigan Lake/ Cowichan Rugby Club
Marshall Fuller (BC) Collingwood/ Capilano RFC
Harjun Gill (BC) St. George's School/ Richmond RFC
Brandon Ho (BC) Rick Hanson/BC
Tristan Hooey (ON) Glebe/Bytown Blues
George Jeavons Fellows (UK) The King's School/Worcester Warriors
Devin King (ON) Uxbridge SS/Oshawa Vikings
Kieran Lacey (NL) Holy Heart of Mary/Swilers RFC
Spencer Loughlin (BC) Yale/ Abbotsford RFC
Patrick Lynott (QC) Philemon Wright HS/Chelsea
Thomas MacDougall (QC) Chateauguay Valley/Ormstown
Jordan Marsh (ON) Stouffville D.S.S./Markham Irish
Calixto Martinez (BC) Earl Marriott/ Bayside RFC
Connor McRae (BC) Collingwood/ Capilano RFC
Christopher Miles (BC) Shawnigan Lake School/ Velox RFC
Spencer Miller (BC) Yale/ Abbotsford RFC
Jonathan Norris (BC) Shawnigan Lake School/ Cowichan Rugby Club
Oliver Nott (BC) Shawnigan Lake/ Cowichan Rugby Club
Rupert Peers (BC) Elgin Park / Bayside RFC
Connor Plumpton (ON) Regiopolis - Notre Dame/Kingston Panthers
James Porter (BC) Rockridge S.S./ Capilano RFC
Louis Retief (BC) Sardis S.S./ Abbotsford RFC
Lucas Rumball (ON) Senator O'Connor/ Balmy Beach
Mitchell Santilli (ON) St. John's College/ Brantford Harlequins
John Shaw (ON) St. Peter C.H.S./ Bytown Blues
Kyle Stanley (NL) Holy Spirit H.S./ Bayman
Tobin Sydneysmith (BC) Sentinel/ Capilano RFC
Joel Tompkins (NL) St. Kevins H.S./ Dogs
Tomasi Vataiki (BC) Hugh McRoberts/ Bayside RFC
Brandon Waeyen (AB) Henry Wisewood H.S./Hornets
Kieran Washburn (AB) Beaumont Composite/ Edmonton NorWesters

Canada Coaching staff
Head Coach:  Jim Delaney
Assistant Coach :  Francois Ratier
Team Manager: Fran Mason


Island Selects (U18)
1. Macbryan Bos (Castaway Wanderers)
2. Jacob Duvenage (Castaway Wanderers)
3.Teigan White (Velox Valhallians)
4. Evan Cambridge (Castaway Wanderers)
5.Truan Forsyth (Castaway Wanderers)
6. Zak Edmonds  (Cowichan Rugby Club)
7. Jeff Nishima Miller (Castaway Wanderers)
8. Gavin Mclean  (GP Vanier)
9. Riley Macpherson  (Castaway Wanderers)
10. Jordan de Graaf  (GP Vanier)
11. Spencer Soltan  (Shawnigan Lake School)
12. Steven Steinbach (Port Alberni) replaces injured Connor Willis (GP Vanier)
13. Alex Kanty  (Castaway Wanderers)
14. Cody Milne (Cowichan Rugby Club)
15. Rhys Prevost (Castaway Wanderers)
16. Tyson Stoochnoff (Cowichan Rugby Club)
17. Justin Logan  (Cowichan Rugby Club)
18. Thomas Mirmotahari (James Bay AA)

Head coach: Jeff Williams


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012