Logo
HappyWater

News

Fall 2011 Mini Rugby season set to go in BC
 
Published Wednesday, September 28, 2011 5:00 am
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

Vancouver, BC: British Columbia's next generation of rugby superstars will take to the pitch this weekend as the 2011 Mini Rugby season kicks off at Klahanie Park.

The Capilano RFC Boston Pizza Mini Jamboree on October 2nd is the first of four scheduled for the Lower Mainland with tournaments also planned for October 23rd (Burnaby Lake), November 6th (Vancouver Rowing Club) and November 20th (Year end at UBC).

On Vancouver Island, Mini Jamborees are scheduled for October 30th (Castaway Wanderers) and November 20th (Cowichan).

Mini Rugby programs are run by BC Rugby member clubs who provide a safe and fun environment for our youngest players to learn all about rugby. Not only do the "minis" learn the fundamental skills, they are also provided the opportunity to make new friends at their club while competing in "mini rugby jamborees."

For the 2011/2012 season, the Minis are those players who are born in 2001 or later. Dues for Minis are $62.00. To find a club with a mini program near you, visit our online club directory at www.bcrugby.com

Boston Pizza Mini Rugby Jamboree Dates:
October 2nd  - Capilano RFC
October 23rd  - Burnaby Lake Rugby Club
October 30th - Castaway Wanderers RFC
November 6th  - Vancouver Rowing Club
November 20th - Cowichan Rugby Club
November 20th - Year End at UBC

For more information on a mini rugby program near you, please contact:

Dave Brown, BC Rugby
Provincial Coach & Development Manager
dbrown@bcrugby.com / 604-737-3067

-

Lower Mainland Minis Contacts
Burnaby Lake: Crystal Steele - meg.steele@hotmail.com
Burnaby Lake: Giovanni Lam - giovannilam@gmail.com
Brit Lions (Delta): Don Brown - nodbbrown@dccnet.com
Capilano (West Van/North Shore): Chris Doll - christopherdoll@shaw.ca
Capilano (West Van/North Shore): Cherie Devisser - Cherie_Devisser@vancity.com
Chuckanut (Washington): Tim Davenport - tdavenport@scienceops.com
Langley: Jenny Foss - bluesummitfarms@hotmail.com
Langley: Jamie Overgaard - rovergaard@vsb.bc.ca
Meraloma (Kitsilano) : Chris Brydon - meralomaminirugby@gmail.com
Meraloma (Kitsilano) : Connie McGinley - conmcginley@shaw.ca
UBCOB Ravens (Vancouver West): Gareth Rees - grees@magma.ca
UBCOB Ravens (Vancouver West): Lora Anjos - lora@anjos.ca
Richmond: Roger Lane - rogerrrfc@yahoo.com
Ridge Meadows: Paul Bennett - paulv_bennett@hotmail.com
Ridge Meadows: Malcolm Knox - malc@bruinsrugbyclub.com
Ridge Meadows: Jen Bott - jbott@telus.net
Vancouver Rowing Club (Stanley Park): Toby Mallinder - TobyMallinder@bty.com
Vancouver Rowing Club (Stanley Park): Andy Wilson - andrew@cwpc.com
Surrey: Dan MacDonald - dmacdonald.lly@eccohtg.com
United (Port Coquitlam): April Jones - unitedkidsrugby@hotmail.com

Vancouver Island Minis Contacts
Campbell River: Erin Young - eayoung@telus.net
Castaway Wanderers (Oak Bay): Ian MacLean - macca@shaw.ca
Cowichan: Kenton McNutt - kentonmcnutt@royallepage.ca
Nanaimo: Christine De Vries - cblsdevries@shaw.ca
James Bay: Marilyn Campbell - mlcampbell14@gmail.com
Velox (Saanich): Craig White -  craigwhite@shaw.ca
Saanich Peninsula (North Saanich): Darrel Couzens - president@saanpenrfc.com


-30-

Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

Top Right Rotation

Calendar Events

Facebook
Twitter to bcru
YouTube BC Rugby Union
BC Sevens Series
BC 125th Anniversary Gala Dinner
Japan Game
BM Logo Rotation


Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012