BC's future stars set to shine in National Provincial U14 Boys Festival
Published Tuesday, August 2, 2011 5:00 am
by Andrew Smith, BC Rugby Communications

Vancouver, BC: The Under-14 Boys Rugby National Provincial Festival kicks off in Vancouver on Wednesday morning featuring teams from British Columbia, Ontario and Alberta. The national competition will be hosted in BC for the first time since 2008.

The squads will play a series of exhibition matches on Tuesday afternoon at Jericho Park with the tournament officially kicking off on Wednesday August, 3rd at UBC's Wolfson Fields.

Wednesday's tournament will feature 13-a-side games. For many of the young players, this will be the first opportunity of competitive rugby.

BC-1 opens their 2011 campaign against Ontario-2 at 10:00am, with a BC-1 versus BC-2 clash set for 11:30. The full schedule is available below.

Wednesday, August 3rd:
BC 1 v Ontario 2 (40 mins): 10.00am
Ontario 1 v Alberta  (40 mins): 10:45am
BC 1 v BC 2 (40 mins): 11:30am
Ontario 2 v Alberta (40 mins): 12:15pm
Ontario 1 v BC 2 (40 mins): 1.00pm
Thursday, August 4th:
BC 2 v Ontario 2 (40 mins): 10:00am
Ontario 1 v BC 1 (40 mins): 10:45am
BC 2 v Alberta (40 mins): 11:30am
Ontario 1 v Ontario 2 (40 mins): 12:15pm
BC 1 v Alberta (40 mins): 1:00pm
Friday, August 5th:
On Friday, the top two finishers will go head-to-head in a final set for 10:30am, with the remaining teams forming a seven-a-side competition with two pools of three teams. The sevens tournament will run from 9:00am through 10:00am.
Sevens starting at 9.00am:
Pool A: 1 v 2
Pool B: 1 v 2
Pool A: 2 v 3
Pool B: 2 v 3
Pool A: 1 v 3
Pool B: 1 v 3
Pool A 3rd Place v Pool B 3rd Place
Pool A 2nd Place v Pool B 2nd Place
Pool A 1st Place v Pool B 1st Place
10:30am: Festival 1st Place v Festival 2nd Place (60mins)

British Columbia Rosters
Martin Jones (Mulgrave School) and Mike Stiles (St. George's School) will coach this year's BC U14 teams. Jones has been involved at the U14 level since 2007, with Stiles coaching at the provincial level since 2008. Don Brown is this year's team manager. 

Team BC-1  'Growl'
1. Keaton Armstrong*
2. Szng Nguyen*
3. Earl Jr. Gilchrist*
4. Alex Popoff (Capilano RFC)
5. Charlie Mutschele*
6. Dante Morandin (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
7. Joshua Jones (Cowichan Rugby Club)
8. Josh Theil (Abbotsford RFC)
9. Kurtis Alberchtsen*
10. Jake Theil (Abbotsford RFC)
11. Max Pollen (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
12. Ryan Brown*
13. Mitchell MJ Mayo*
14. Norris Wass-Little*
15. Mac Valentine*
16. Paz Morrison-Rainville*
17. Braeden Tate (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
18. Owen Sudul*
19. Kyrill Metainkov*
20. Noah Bain*
21. Jackson Claridge (Capilano RFC)
22. Pranav Arya*
23. Jack McDonald (Brit Lions RFC)
24. Robbie Kershaw (Capilano RFC)
25. Sean Cameron (Capilano RFC)

Team BC-2 'Roar'
1. Naryan Dass (UBCOB Ravens)
2. Liam Boder-McLean (Velox Valhallians RFC)
3. Taitusi Vikilani (Burnaby Lake RC)
4. Joe Sourriseau (UBCOB Ravens)
5. Liam Doll (Capilano RFC)
6. Connor Hughes*
7. Simon Gray (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
8. Graeme Hyde-Lay (Castaway Wanderers RFC)
9. Addison Bazian*
10. George Barton (Cowichan Rugby Club)
11. Mitchell Newman*
12. Eric Lee*
13. Garret David*
14. Marshall Roddick (Bayside RFC)
15. Ryan Gray (Capilano RFC)
16. Justin Bond*
17. Andrew Jones (Meraloma - Capilano?)
18. Millar Thind (Ridge Meadows Bruins)
19. Callahan McMaster*
20. Jake Larson*
21. Dion Struwig*
22. Dave Pauls (Abbotsford RFC)
23. Liam Gahan (Bayside RFC)
24. Connor Murrin*
25. Connor Sampson*
26. Cameron Davitt (Burnaby Lake RC)
27. Aidan McCleary*
28. Devon Christiansen*


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012