Buccaneer 7s

Date: June 9, 2012

ESQUIMALT, BC -  Bullen Park will play host to an exciting day of rugby on Saturday as part of Esquimalt's Centenary celebrations. The Buccaneer Rugby Sevens will run from 9:00am to 4:00pm featuring senior men, women and elite youth divisions. Then at 5:00pm, the Canadian men's under-20 national team will scrum down against St. Andrew's University in their final match before heading to Utah for the 2012 Junior World Rugby Trophy.

Rugby Schedule - Sat. June 9, 2012 at Bullen Park, Esquimalt
9:00am-4:00pm Buccaneer Rugby Sevens
5:00pm Canada U20 vs St. Andrew's University
($10 for adults, FREE for children under 12)
Contact: Tom Woods 250.857.1062 (tom.woods@telus.net)

Buccaneer Rugby Sevens
Festivities in Esquimalt will feature a fair, parade, beer garden and dance. For the men's and women's teams there will be $1500.00 in prize money handed out to the winners.

Head coach of the BC Elite Youth Sevens program Shane Thompson will be running a tournament for the Under-16 men's age grade. Players will travel to the Island from the Okangan, Lower Mainland and North Island regions.

Thompson will also be entering a U18 Elite Youth Sevens team into the senior men's competition. As of Monday afternoon the squad consists of ten players, most of whom went undefeated at the Las Vegas Sevens Youth Invitational in February and the Hong Kong International Youth Sevens in March.

BC U18 Roster:
1. Haydn Evans (Cowichan Rugby Club / Shawnigan); 2. Nathan Yanagiya (Capilano / Carson Graham); 3. Jeff Nishima-Miller (Castaway Wanderers / SMUS); 4. Gavin McLean (North Island / GP Vanier); 5. Bobby Devaney (Bayside / Earl Marriott); 6. Jordan De Graff (North Island / GP Vanier); 7. Quinton Willms (Bayside / Earl Marriott); 8. Fergus Hall (Castawa Wanderers / Glenlyon Norfolk); 9. Ian McMaster (Bayside / Earl Marriott); 10. Connor Willis (North Island / GP Vanier)

BC Sevens Series
Up next on the BC Sevens calendar after the Buccaneer Sevens is the Vancouver Rugby Sevens, scheduled for June 16 at Connaught Park.  The Vancouver Rugby Sevens is one of three official stops on the 2012 BC Rugby Sevens circuit and the club teams within the BC Rugby Union will have the opportunity to accrue points towards a provincial championship. Along with the Vancouver tournament, official stops include the Burnaby Lake Lighthouse Sevens on July 7 and the Abbotsford Rugby Sevens on July 28. Teams eligible for a provincial title will have to attend all three Series events. For more information or to sign up for the Vancouver Rugby Sevens contact Rohan Brial at rohanbrial@hotmail.com. For more information on the BC Sevens Series visit www.bcrugby7s.com


BC rep teams

Calendar Events

Twitter to bcru
BC Sevens Series
Japan Game
Japan Game
bottom banner new

Copyright BC Rugby Union 2012